help exchange   Host 60200
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


filandia
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 4+
Category: Backpacker Hostel
Host ID: 60200
Country: Colombia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 20, 2017

We are a 30 year old British couple who have spent the past 14 months travelling around South America by motorcycle, fell in love with the beautiful Colombian coffee district and have decided to stay. After months of searching we finally found a finca with a big country house in a stunning location in the heart of the coffee district, 1.5km from the centre of Filandia.

We plan to open a hostel within the next few months but first the house needs maintenance, and the farm needs work to bring it back to its former glory (planting crops, fixing fences and improving the chicken coops and pig pens etc). Can you help us turn our finca into somewhere really special for other travellers and adventurers? Paul and I are quite practical (we renovated house boats in England) so can do many of these things ourselves but could really do with some help to complete lots of odd jobs before before we can officially open. For example, we currently have a leak in the roof, need to install gas water heaters, need to design the bar and reception, build; lockers, fire pits, pizza ovens, green house and repair the animal enclosures. We are looking for roofers, painters, landscapers, electricians, farmers, and all round handy people who want to get stuck in. In return we will hope this will be a fun experience for both parties. You will have a private room, we will cook a good homely evening meal to share together, have a weekly BBQ etc.
We are really looking for people that know what they are doing or that have a skill. We are very fair with the hours that we expect in exchange for food accommodation, and know that 2 hrs of roofing or electrical/ gas work is worth more than 15 hours of collecting firewood! We can discuss each morning at breakfast what the plan for the day is but definitely do not want to hand hold.

We are still learning Spanish, so think it best for the technical help we require that anyone staying with us have a good level of English.

Once we open as a business, in a few months time (hopefully), our requirements for helpers will shift to more the creative side, ie murals, teaching us Spanish, reception managing bookings, cleaning etc, but for now it's all hands on deck to get it there.

Paul does smoke but only outside the property and we would expect the same from any helpers.

We can offer you your own room in a huge property with stunning scenery, the house is built on a hill so has 360 degree views. We have a mountain bikes, possibly motorcycle tuition, BBQ at the weekend. 3 cooked meals per day with us.

We have Netflix, wifi, indoor fireplace, washing machine, hammocks, cell phone signal, radio, bar and some items for sale

We have various fruit trees including papaya, oranges, limes, lemons you are welcome to enjoy as well as orchids and other flowers we had no idea existed.

The locals are all really friendly and there is beautiful hiking in the area with several waterfalls closeby. We are 15minutes from Bremen national park which is filled with Howler monkeys. Filandia is famous for its traditional architecture, cooler climate, colourful buildings and coffee farms offering tours. There are many other activities within this area including paragliding and horse riding. In the coming weeks we are waiting delivery of a Nintendo n64 with Mario cart, badminton rackets, baby chickens and piglets, and a ping pong table. Salento is 20 minutes away while armenia is 45 minutes with busses every 30 minutes or less.

Paul and I are laid back and easy going. We met at university 10+ years ago, lived on narrowboats/barges in London for 6 years while renovating them whilst holding jobs in the city. We have decided to swap our demanding lifestyles back home for a hopefully more fulfilling one here.... time will tell if it was worth the gamble.

We appreciate all ideas and input from perspective of a potential guest balanced with the view of an owner.

We have 1 well travelled dog, a 7 month old street dog we found dieing in the gutter (and riddled with maggots) somewhere around cartagena 6 months ago. "Benji Sanchez" is medium sized, loves people, is not aggressive and has never displayed any aggression. She loves motorcycles and an opportunity to put on her doggles. Pets are welcome providing they are equally non threatening to everyone and everything on the property.

A little more information


Internet access

We have pets

We are smokers
How many helpers can stay?
How many helpers can stay?
More than two

Cultural exchange and learning opportunities
Cultural exchange and learning opportunities
We have lived in Armenia for the last 6 months so have some knowledge of the area, have colombian Friends who live there and can help with whatever you may need. Practise the language and get the opportunity to explore the area.
We are travelled around south america and south east asia extensively with and without motorcycles so can advise based on our experiences.

If your Spanish is up to it.... We need to integrate more with our locals and procure their various produce (milk, cheese, meat, vegetables etc)

...
Volunteering hours expected
Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use