help exchange   Host 60348
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: March-December
Area (ha): .8
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 60348
Country: Austria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 18, 2018

Currently looking for 1 person or a couple to stay 1-3 months in summer 2019. Experience with gardening, carpentry, hospitality, and animals would be ideal. Optional short trial stay now to see if it's a good fit for next year.

We don't smoke, drink alcohol, or use drugs and appreciate the same in others.

We are an artist/musician American/Austrian couple, 48 and 59, living on a mini-farm in the famous Vienna Woods outside the city. Beautiful scenic area; sort of the first baby foothills of the Alps. A rare combination of quiet peaceful seclusion where you can see the stars at night, surrounded by thousands of acres of public forest land for hiking, yet only 45 minutes from the city center of Vienna.

This is an ideal home base for touring the amazing city of Vienna, the rest of Austria and central Europe. The world class museums and amazing architecture of the city, plus medieval castles, historic monasteries and churches, quaint villages, and gorgeous mountains all within an easy day's drive if you have a car, or by the slightly slower but very efficient European public transport options.

We live in a historic 100 year old, traditional Alp style cottage and have just bought the similar cottage next door. Part of a tiny village of 10 cottages which were originally an experimental homesteading community established by the government for Vienna Forest workers in the 1920's. Today the cottages are privately owned, but still surrounded by public forest land which will never be developed.

We are working to restore our property with a modern twist on its origins; as a demonstration mini-farm to teach and inspire others towards creative, artistic, sustainable living endeavors. We have started a market garden/produce stand this season and renovated the second cottage for farmstay guests.

Our property includes pastured poultry, a horse, cats, ever-expanding organic fruit and vegetable gardens, forested hillside, two cottages and outbuildings, and a tiny house/guest cabin.

We primarily need help with gardening, carpentry, maintenance/renovation of buildings, and animal care. Prior experience with gardening, carpentry, and horses preferred. The work may also include domestic household duties, cleaning, organizing, interacting with guests etc. You need to be in good physical shape and energetic! Enthusiasm and willingness to help with all sorts of tasks necessary.

Accommodation for helpers is usually in the newly renovated tiny house/cabin. It has a loft bed for 2 people, electricity, wifi, kitchenette, shower, and compost toilet. There is a wood stove for heating during cold weather.

When we are at home we are very open to flexible scheduling so that you can travel part of the time, while using this as a home base. A general guideline would be 20-25 hours work per person/per week on 3-4 consecutive days, leaving you free to go hiking, see the city, or travel farther afield the rest of the time.

At times when we are away, you would need to be on site most of the time and take full responsibility for garden and animal care.

We provide all food supplies for you, but you will be responsible for preparing your own meals. Occasional shared meals depending on our schedules. We mostly eat a whole foods diet and try not to buy a lot of processed or junk food. If you have special dietary restrictions, this can likely be accommodated but please discuss with us ahead of time. During winter months it may be an option to work fewer hours and provide your own food.

The closest village is about 5km from here and the train station about 10 km. The city boundary is a 10 minute train ride, 20-25 minutes to the center. We can provide bicycles for your use, and can occasionally take you by car to the train station or into the city. You may want to bring/rent a car for more transportation options.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use