Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6036
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Virtually ALL year
Area (ha): 1.3
Persons: 1-8
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6036
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 2, 2015

We need help in maintaining our very large garden which involves planting trees and shrubs, preparing and maintaining the potager (vegetable garden), weeding, cleaning out the lake and includes digging and other heavy work. So able-bodied people are needed. Experienced gardeners particularly welcome.

We also would like to hear from people with building and interior decorating skills.

We are Madeleine and Tony who live in South West France at the edge of a small medieval village called Tillac. We have 1.3 hectares (about 4 acres) of gardens, including a gite building (holiday homes) with swimming pool in 2,500 m2 of their own gardens.

We are increasingly suffering from osteoarthritis and are now very limited in the amount and type of work that we can do. Can you help ? If you can, you get to live in a beautifully appointed, very well equipped holiday home (gite) off season ! We are an English-speaking household so if you want to brush up your French, we can recommend other Hosts in the area.

People with their own transport would be particularly well suited as we are out in the country and we can not always promise to take you on exploration trips. There are usually other volunteers here or in the immediate vicinity.

We are looking for people with practical skills who are willing to make a notable contribution. In the gardens (which include a lake of 1,000 m2) we are looking for assistance in the maintenance of the lawn, potager (vegetable patch), trees, shrubs and flower beds. This offers an opportunity for some creative garden design.

We also need assistance in our house and the gites. We have a number of specific projects that you might like to get involved with. These include work in our main house (a traditional Gascon farmhouse from about 1840), refreshing the decoration of some of the rooms inside our house and some decorating inside and outside the gite.

There are often other volunteers in the vicinity, but there is no night life as known in cities. We make our own if we wish to; otherwise we have a quiet and calm lifestyle no hustle and bustle.

Tillac, where we live, is a small but beautiful medieval village set in gentle rolling countryside. It has a general store, the best butcher in the area and a bar/restaurant. It is at the mid-point of a triangle formed by three other somewhat larger villages, Mirande, Marciac and Mielan. The Pyrenees are 1.5 hrs. away, Biarritz and the Atlantic coast 2 hrs., Toulouse 1.5 hrs. and the Mediterranean coast about 3.5 hours away. This is "La France Profonde".

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use