Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 60617
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 60617
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 28, 2017

I'm available from today to 20 july.
Hi, my name is Maurizio Cheri and i live in Tortolì, a small village in the beautiful Sardinia Island, Italy.

I am a well-disposed person, with a kind of sunny attitude that reflects in a relentless desire to learn and do.

I travelled a lot during my whole life, both for work and pleasure, and since the very beginning, I realized that knowing new places and meeting people besides being a wonderful experience, it constitutes an occasion of genuine enlightenment, of dialogue and of positive thoughts!! That’s all I need in life, isn’t it?

So, i decided to surf these emotional waves and transform my home into a B&B.

I shared my project with lots of people in a crowdfunding experience; many of them considered it very interesting, and provided a great emotional and financial support. Still now, I can hardly realize how it could have been possible: it was so exciting to see people encouraging me and the project growing day after day!

Finally, on August 2016, my brand new B&B started to work, providing me self-sustainment, the possibility to meet people from all over the world and to share with them experiences and life stories, as I have always desired.
A typical day at the B&B starts in the early morning: I prepare the breakfast for the guests and help them to arrange a suitable day-schedule according to their desires.
After they left, I spend most of my time keeping the B&B.

When they get back, i love chatting about their daily adventures holding a refreshing cocktail on one hand and seasonal fruits on the other. Sometimes time passes too quickly and dinner-time arrive; in that case what best than eating together? However, it is pretty rare that my guests remain at B&B after that: here in Ogliastra night life is everything but boring!
It may even happen that I succeeded in finding special biological fruits with which I prepare fresh marmalades for the guests. Well, as you have probably understood, I really love to cook for my guests, mainly traditional Sardinian dishes.

Furthermore, my parents own a country house in the neighborhood of Tortolì where they biologically grow different kinds of vegetables, so from time to time, I use to help them and then pick up some for the B&B, obviously the best of the harvest.
Tortolì is really the best place for me to live, I realize to be so lucky: the sea is wonderful all over the year and its colors may vary from deep blue to emerald green till reaching crystal transparencies that make you fly. The salty smells of the coast drag you to adventurous journeys, while those hot and dense of the inland stun your head and dull your senses more than a glass of Cannonau wine. There is nothing more to say.

At present, I hope that this new experience with helpx provides me a new and successful way to share with you my life and my experiences.The help i need in my BnB is extremely flexible: there is not a single work to do, but rather some small jobs to keep things running and to participate to the B&B activities. Rarely, it may happen a maintenance work, but do not worry, we act in team.

Few more details: the mainstream is to keep efficient and cozy the whole house for the incoming guests, to make few maintenance jobs, and to provide help in the kitchen where we could cook together for us. It could also be relevant, as one can imagine, to spend some time with the guests in chatting or sharing experiences.

However, i cannot exactly quantify the needed amount of work, but don’t worry, the B&B is small: one room is mine, a second one it’s for you, the helpxer, and only two more rooms for the guests so that they will not exceed five in number; that minimizes the maintenance jobs. It would be great for me to practice English with the helpxer (I am still basic on that, I hope you understand) to assist as best as possible foreign guests, so English speakers are really welcome.At the very beginning, the helpxer will stay in one of the rooms of the BnB, then some help will be needed to arrange a new one on the ground floor, next to my room and with a shared toilet. At home, we will eat together what I prepare, but sometimes it would be nice to cook new dishes typical of the helpxer’s country. If you are vegetarian or vegan, please don’t worry, I will do my best to arrange stuffs so that you can feel comfortable with your stay, always in a deep mutual respect.

My home is located downtown the village, in an old building that i renewed with passion and sacrifice, you will like it! From here, you can reach, on foot, bar and restaurants and all the services that Tortolì offers. You will be also provided with a bicycle to reach furthest places and beaches. The bus station is only 200 mt. far from home, and some of the buses also allow one to reach the airport. Next to the B&B (300 mt) there are a theatre and a cinema.
Those who love nature and excursions, can find beautiful trekking paths, you can do climbing, mountain bike, kayak and, in summer time only, kite-surf. As I already said, the sea is wonderful here! Another typical cultural expression of the territory lies in the wine: you can visit the cellars where the world famous Cannonau wine is produced and stored, and you can obviously arrange tasting stages there.
It is also possible to learn the ancient art of doing Pecorino cheese and participate to fishing activities with local fishermen. I also have some fishing rods for those who are fans of this activity or are just curious to try it. So, whatever you will like to do, simply ask and I will be glad to satisfy your desires. See you soon!
Summing up, in my B&B you can learn lots of things from the Sardinian culture: I will present you the best of our cooking and traditions! You can also get in contact with people from all over the world and exchange ideas and experiences with them. What I ask in return is some of your time and knowledge, since I still have a lot left to learn, and this is for sure a striking opportunity.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use