Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6064
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Vila do Bispo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6064
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 8, 2012

I live in 2h secluded valley of cork oak where I'm looking for help with my ongoing project.

Over the last 15 years I've been building my house, using only natural materials (stone, clay and wood) and self made adobe bricks, mortar and plaster. Much of the materials are recycled, with only wooden fastenings being used, and traditional and alternative building technologies employed throughout.

We are self sufficient for water (from the small lake) and electricity (from the sun). The local village with shops and cafes is within walking distance; the coast is 4km to the south and 12km to the west.

The works that need doing are many and varied: land cleaning, tree care and pruning, collecting firewood, tree care pruning, landscaping and dry stone wall building for example. I'm currently working on the roof of the main house, and could use some general assistance on this, and in particular a top class artistically-minded carpenter would be most welcome. Also if you like tinkering with old cars, there is a fascinating collection of vehicles that would welcome your attention!

In return for 5 half days work a week, we can offer accommodation in a small adobe brick house that sleeps 2, with its own solar electricity and shared use of compost toilet and shower. We'll supply food on work days, and there is a mountain bike available for use.

We speak English, German and Portuguese.

Please get in touch if you'd like to come and stay! Would really appreciate some help now.Look foward to hearing from any happy,chilled people....About to start a veggie garden....anyone want to help with that?

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use