Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 60646
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

El Pont d'Armentera
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 60646
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 24, 2017

We are two little witches living in a glen in the sunny Catalonia. We have been here for the past two years trying to live more in tune with nature. We run only on solar energy and obtain water from a well. There is a pool that we use to harvest water to water the garden. We are musicians and enjoy playing music, and we like to think of the farm also as a creative / artistic landscape.

There are 1.2 hectares of cultivated land and the other half is forest. We take care of 80 olive trees, 30 hazelnut trees, a few almond trees, a walnut tree and a few fruit trees. We also have a year round garden to meet our needs. We make preserves, dry fruits and harvest local plants in each season.

If you are willing to help us improve the place we live in, come stay with us! We love traveling and volunteering, and used to do so, but since we've decided to take care of this spot and make it our base for a while, inviting foreign people to come and help us is our way to travel nowadays. We would like skilled, self-motivated and inspirational people that can take part and give ideas during 4 or 5 hours a day (depending on the day), with our year round projects such as:

- Outdoor compost toilet.
- Outdoor shower.
- Tending the garden.
- Building a roundhouse or simmilar.
- Maintaining the forest clean.
- Improving watering systems.
- Great ideas from visitors are very welcome!

We live in a small two story house. The bottom floor is a kitchen / living space and there are two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs. We both have part-time jobs related to music and teaching. We live with three domesticated cats and there also is native wildlife to convive with (but you rarely see them) such as boars, deer, eagles, snakes, foxes, spiders, and many insects so bring repellent!

You will get:

FOOD: Three meals per day with delicious food (most of it organic and / or local) sometimes cooked in a solar kitchen or fire stove. Vegetarian cuisine is offered.

CONNECTIONS: The nearest town is only a 10 minute walk, and Santes Creus (a touristic point in the area) is only 4 km away. Also there are buses that can connect you with bigger cities.

SURROUNDINGS: There are beautiful walks around and trips to the beach or natural swimming spaces often happen. We know some local producers of wine, beer, olives, ... so visits can be planned.

HOUSING: You would stay in an outdoor tent and if the weather conditions are not good, there is a small room in the house. There is internet access.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use