help exchange   Host 60885
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 60885
Country: Panama

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 5, 2020

Sorry I am all booked until April 2020.
Help me build a food forest in the highlands of Chiriqui, Panama.
All organic of course using permaculture techniques with as much variety of edible plants, trees and fruits as possible.
You can commune with mother nature in this tranquil and semi-secluded hobby farm.
You will be weeding, pruning, planting, reaping, making compost and applying it. Landscaping a bit and you can exercise your artistic abilities. Please be in excellent health physically and mentally. There are abundant birds, flora and fauna as well as bugs, lizards and pollen. Not a place for a city person as there is not much to do as far as discos and bars. That you will find in David or Boquete which are a half an hour drive away.
You will need long pants and long sleeve shirt to work in or you will be eaten by bugs.
Good work shoes as well and no working in flip flops.
Time off can be spent touring the hot springs, river canyon, town of Boquete, horseback riding, hiking Volcan Baru or just relaxing under a mango tree.
Everyone's dietary needs are different so you buy your own food as food is cheap here. You will also need to bring your own toiletries such as soap, shampoo and toilet paper. I will take you grocery shopping when I go. There are spinach, mangoes, oranges, limes, casava and yams free on the farm when available. You do your own cooking and cleaning as you will be staying in a separate house.
I have a table tennis table and have been told that I am an excellent player. Concrete soccer pitch nearby where you can play with the locals.
No pets or smokers please.
How will travelers benefit from a cultural exchange and what could they learn?
You can learn Spanish and English and help me practice Portuguese, Italian, German and Tagalog.
I can teach you what I know about permaculture and organic practices. You can eat all the food produced on the farm and I will give tours of the nearby attractions (also hug a sloth) for those who go the extra mile working. I am close to the town of Boquete where you can do zipline, white water, hiking and coffee tours. A few restaurants offer live music and you can also join in when they have jam sessions. My next door neighbour is a micro specialty coffee roaster and he is always happy to give a tour and he can make you a special batch of coffee.

Suggested working hours is 4 hours in the morning and weekends are for your tours, house cleaning and laundry is available.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use