Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6100
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

west linton, nr edinburgh
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6100
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 3, 2017

I think I'll start by introducing you to our family! I'm Connor, I live with my daughter Iona (aka the squid) and my mum in a nice house in a village outside Edinburgh. We have been hosting through various programs for a long time (anyone remember globalfreeloaders?) and love the variety of experiences it brings into our lives.

The thing we most want to do at the moment is getting the house (interior!!) painted, that's a lot of painting and I really want to find someone with experience if possible. Also there will be some garden work (nothing very heavy though).

If you're good with young children or have nannying experience that would be a huge bonus, our girl is inquisitive and will want to play with you. Iona may sometimes need of somebody to walk her to and from school a couple of days a week, take her to the park, do arts/crafts activities with and maybe fix a light evening meal if I'm out. If you enjoy working with children Iona always enjoys help with her homework and reading for school. Iona is home educated two days a week just now and if you have a special area of interest it would be nice if you wanted to get involved! Our upcoming topics are Norse Myths then Maps and exploration... that takes us through to the summer and I'm not planning any further than that, lol.

The daily tasks are cleaning type things. This would be everyday stuff, sweeping/mopping, possibly dog walking, dusting etc. Nothing too onerous! In season there are garden chores, weeding, mowing the lawn etc. Interspersed with these daily tasks are larger scale projects.

We have one very friendly, bouncy, foolish (and quite large) dog, so if you're allergic we're not the hosts for you. But if you like walking dogs (and are strong!) then our baby Zeus would love you forever!

If you have the skills we'd love to hear from you. In return for your help you will have breakfast, bed, lunch at home with us (if you're in at lunchtime!) and some dinners, not always fancy but usually tasty with a focus on seasonal and local produce. We are not vegetarian but we can easily cater for vegetarians as we do not eat a diet heavy in meat products. Any special products for special diets (nut or soya milk etc) must be provided yourself. Also you will have unlimited wifi internet access and a nice bedroom to yourself (or shared, depending on numbers!).

We like helpx'ers who are able to stay a while, it gives us all a chance to get to know each other and settle into a routine in the house. Having hosted helpers with children we'd certainly love to doing that again. We are happy to host couples but both partners must be prepared to work.

All our helpx'ers are invited to become part of our family, to join in birthday (please let us know if it's your birthday!) and other celebrations with us... October is a big month with many birthdays and Halloween! If you plan to be travelling over Christmas or new year we'd be happy to welcome you then too.

Our village is gorgeous, we are in a conservation area with a village green and riverside walks. 25 minutes by car to edinburgh or around 1.5 hours to glasgow, we're on a bus route to peebles, edinburgh or dumfries. the area is fab for hiking, biking, horse riding and fishing.

I am an artisan baker and am happy to teach you the basics of baking good sourdough bread, rye and wheat as well as other types. I forage for berries and other wild foods and can show you what to gather locally and how to preserve or cook it. I make basic white cheese a little like ricotta but would love to learn more about cheesemaking or brewing.

I go to edinburgh pretty regularly and am happy to help with lifts.

In the reviews you will see references for Christina. It's best that you understand this! I'm a female to male transgender person, now living full time as male and started on testosterone therapy. Obviously we are very open to hosting people from the lgbt community and I can point you in the direction of clubs/bars and social spots in town.

see you soon...


Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use