Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 61037
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 61037
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 11, 2018

Update: Looking for helpers in October and November to get the garden and surroundings ready for winter.

Help needed in and around an old water mill right in the middle of Germany.

At the moment the mill is home to my mother (Barbara, 59), myself (Catherina, 38) and our dogs(2), cats(5) and horses(4)... and our newest arrivals: some Indian runner ducks and chicken. We just moved in at the beginning of last summer. The inside of the house is mostly finished, but the mill itself and the surrounding pastures will be a “work in progress” for the next years. There are many different projects – the (future) garden, cleaning out the outbuildings, checking the mill race, optimizing the stables (fencing, concreting etc.) – so there are various jobs, small ones or bigger ones, depending on weather and time available.

So let us know in your letter, if you have any special skills … and if not ;-) : we would also welcome help with the daily chores around the house, the garden and/or in the stables. (We don't ask you to do anything we aren't willing to do ourselves). You should be able to work on your own some of the time. I’m working as a veterinarian for dairy cattle, which means I can only work around the mill on my days off. My mother is working from home and will be there, if you have any questions... or need someone to chat and have tea with ;-) We usually expect about 4 hours work a day, 5 days a week, but are flexible and some days the work may be longer and other days shorter.

In return we can provide accommodation in a room of a self-contained flat. You’d have your own bathroom, which you’d only have to share, if we have friends staying over. Most of the time we would share meals, but you could also cook in your own kitchen, if you need some time to yourself ;-) There’s also WiFi. Please note: No smoking inside! We are looking for help from max. two volunteers (a couple or friends happy to share a room). We would like HelpXers to come for 2-4 weeks max - with a possible extension, if we get along well and there is enough work (especially in winter). As most of the work is going to be outside, you need to bring suitable cloths and footwear.

The mill is situated about 25km north of Marburg in the middle of Germany. Although we are right next to the ‘Burgwald’, one of the largest contiguous forests in Germany, you can reach us by public transportation. This is a rural area with little night life, but it is beautiful walking country and we are happy to help you plan hikes. We also have mountain bikes, you could use to explore the countryside. It’s not far to the national forest ‘Kellerwald’ and if you want to go on daytrips, Marburg, Frankenberg or Korbach are nice towns/villages to visit. In wintertime you could go to the skiing resort around Winterberg, which is 40km away.

If you are a competent rider you can go on trail rides with us. In this case we expect you to help taking care of the horses and stables, which can be physically hard work and continues regardless of the weather conditions. You need your own accident insurance and to bring your own helmet and suitable footwear. And please note: as the horses' height is only about 1.5m there is a weight limit of 85kg! And yes: if in doubt, I check ;-)

During your stay you should make sure you have medical cover in case of illness, as you would if you were on holiday.

We would like the first contact to be written. Also let us know, what you are expecting in your stay as a helpxer. We are looking forward to meeting people from different parts of the world (and cultures) and showing you a part of ours.

Falls jemand aus Deutschland Lust hat, mal einige Zeit bei uns zu verbringen und sich auszupowern, ist sie/er natürlich auch herzlich willkommen :-)

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use