help exchange   Host 61339
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: from May until September
Area (ha): 1,4
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 61339
Country: Hungary

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 17, 2019

We are a family of four people: an Austrian man (53), a Hungarian woman (41) and two girls (5 and 7 years old). The name of our farm tells you what inspires us most... We moved to this house and started our 6700 m˛ organic garden in spring 2011. Last year we added another 7300 m˛, so now we can use 1,4 ha altogether. Our aim is to develop a permacultural forest-garden containing many fruit-trees and other trees, vegetables and herbs. We have made the first steps, and every new step is an adventure.

Our place is situated in a small village called Nagyszékely, somewhere halfway between Budapest and Pécs. The landscape is quite hilly, we are surrounded by forests and agricultural monocultures as well. This “dead-end“ village has a special energy and attracts many interesting people including gardeners, craftsmen and artists.

We expect a daily minimum of 5 hours work from the volunteer, which includes mainly gardening, cooking, conserving food for the winter, household activities, clay-house renovation, firewood-production and other things as well. Most of the tasks are in the garden and around the kitchen. Expexted time for staying is minimum 5 days, maximum 3 weeks.
Vegetarian meals 3 times a day. Accomodation in tent. Compost toilet in the garden, bathroom for showering in the house.
We encourage volunteers to spend some time on their own as well, e.g. discover the neighbourhood. There are other permacultural gardens in the village as well, some of them are already more developed then ours, so you should see them, too.

Sleeping bag, raincoat, water- and mudproof shoes, sun-protection hat and creme, torch.
We also recommend to bring a bicycle, because it makes it eaasier to move inside the villlage and in the neighbourhood. music-instruments are welcome. sometimes there might be a campfire with drumming and singing.
You can also bring you boy- or girlfriend and of course your children.
Please don't bring your dog, because they usually cause problems with the cats and the children as well.

The climate here is usually quite continental with some mediterran influence: you can expect mostly dry and hot summers (near 40°C) with some intensive rain-periods and heavy thunderstorms. From the end of July until the end of September be aware of ragweed-pollen.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use