Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6135
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 0.60 (An acre)
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6135
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 11, 2017

I have a small cottage and kitchen garden and am looking for help around and about the house and garden. I share my house with four cats, three dogs and have now 15 lovely hens. Due to the encouragement of my first helpxer and with the help of many other energetic helpxers, the hens have a lovely coral to cavort in. I have an acre of land and battle with keeping my garden under control. Anyone with chainsaw skills, or a little bit of stone walling experience would be sincerely appreciated and a helping hand around the house would be really welcome in return for comfortable and warm accommodation in my home together with an evening meal, I let you get your own lunch and breakfast as Iím usually out myself. Iíve wifi internet, TV and endless views.

So far my experience as a host has been really rewarding and transformed the way I live and experience the pleasure of having such lovely people visit. I hope that anyone considering helpxing here will have a rewarding experience and enjoy the pace of country life and the exuberance of my dogs!

Nearest towns are Kilgarvan 2 miles and busy market/tourist town of Kenmare 5.5 miles. You can get a train to Killarney and a bus to Kenmare. The nearest airports are Kerry or Cork, if coming from the States/Canada etc, Shannon/Dublin

Next door there is a riding stables, the sea just down the road and plenty of mountain walking (and dog walking). Will teach bodhran (Irish drum) if desired and I have a piano should you feel so inclined to have a tinkle. Iíve no bicycles so hitching, walking or catching a lift in or out of town with my son or myself is not a problem. I expect about 5 hrs work a day (5 days per week) weather permitting and tasks permitting but I donít consider myself a hard tasker! I prefer people for about at least two weeks but not much longer as I think we all need our space. However, I recently had people stay for much longer and enjoyed that experience so if you are the type of person who likes to stay a while and get into the routine of daily living and if we get on I will consider taking you for a longer period.

I'm currently looking for a house sitter for the month of if you think you would like to do this I really would want genuine references. And expect to spend time with you before and after the period I'm away so we get to know each other.

When writing please state when you want to come and for how long. Thanks.
PS I am currently a smoker.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use