Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 61515
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: Up to 3
Category: Other
Host ID: 61515
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 13, 2017

We (Pete and Sophia) moved to the Welsh Borders in February 2017. Having spent a couple of years travelling in our campervan, HelpXing and living in the Alps. It felt like the time to put down some roots & begin a new adventure. We are both 33 & have a young energetic German Shorthaired Pointer, called Juno. We are looking for liberal-minded people with a 'can do' disposition to help alongside us and share wine/beer by a fire some evenings. We see this as a great opportunity to meet new people & we loved our time HelpX-ing. We want you (anyone volunteering with us) to have a great time & we'll do all we can to make sure you're happy and have things to do that you enjoy.

This place, our new home, consists of 10 acres of woods; a crazily overgrown garden; a pond; a timber frame house (which we are living in and renovating); plus a little woodland cabin (featured in the pictures below).

We are looking for volunteers to help us get to grips with the woodland and garden from September 2017. If you have a particular interest/knowledge in woodland management or gardening, then that’s fantastic! Equally brilliant is a desire to be outdoors, work hard and get your hands dirty… no need to be an expert!

The main tasks for autumn are:
• Hazel Coppicing
• Thinning trees in the woodland
• Chipping and log splitting
• Strimming brambles
• Laying paths
• Foraging & making booze, relish, chutney etc from our finds.

• Creating an area for chickens
• Creating a veg plot
• Creating a woodland meadow
• Weeding, planting, pruning & landscaping

Rainy day tasks will be ad hoc and depend on your interests. It could be anything from renovating furniture, to decorating, to cooking.

Subject to planning, we hope to build two woodland cabins to rent as holiday lets. As & when this progresses, there may be a wider plethora of tasks… We aim to have the cabins ready for Summer 2018, for now life here is busy preparing the site to look it’s best.

We ask for 5 hours of help a day, 5 days a week (you can pick when you start, no need to be up early if you don’t want to be!) and in return we offer the cabin for you to stay in & food. You'll have your own bathroom & cooking facilities (a woodfired rayburn, plus a microwave and hob) within the cabin. There’s also a deck you can relax on. We'll have lunch together every weekday, a communal dinner at least every other night & we’ll provide breakfast things for you at the cabin. We ask that you share in the clearing up after your jobs and meals, keeping the cabin clean etc - just normal stuff. If you like to cook, then we love to try new stuff! The world is your oyster for the rest of your time here. There’s beautiful walking locally but if it’s dramatic scenery you're after: Snowdonia is half an hours drive away & beautiful beaches around an hour away. There's also plenty of mountain biking & kayaking opportunities available locally.

We think we live in a beautiful part of the world but it is quite isolated. In light of this we’d prefer it if volunteers came in pairs (with a friend/partner) OR be really happy spending some evenings/weekends in their own company.

We work hard but this doesn't mean we don't have time for BBQs, bonfires, big dog walks and the like. If this sounds like your kind of place, then please get in touch. We hope to hear from you soon!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use