Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6223
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 11
Persons: 1 or 2 negotiable
Category: Other
Host ID: 6223
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 9, 2012

We are a retired English family with a 15 year old son. Our farm is a hobby farm and most things we do are for our health and for fun. On the farm we have - a donkey, pigeons, rabbits, bees, sometimes quail, guinea fowl and chickens. We are also trying to set up an Aquaponics system and have some solar power. We are striving to set up a permaculture garden. We have learned a lot about making the best of the very hot summers and the very wet winters and how this relates to growing plants and trees.
Your accommodation and some of your meals will be in a small caravan although we cook and eat outside quite a lot. We need help clearing bramble and extending our new food forest. 50 olive trees need pruning. Building work is also required to bring into use three cottages I have in the area. One day I will want help restoring the NORA - this is the donkey powered irrigation system.
Skills you might acquire - tractor driving, basic bee keeping, composting. You will learn how to manage a small Aquaponics system to produce fresh fish and vegetables for the table. We will be happy to pass on any knowledge we have, relevant to living and surviving in Portugal and also share some leisure activities- sight seeing, fishing, shopping.
Skills you have that will be useful but not essential- use of Brush cutter/strimmer and Chainsaw.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use