Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6376
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Vale de Rodao (Marv„o)
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2 - 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 6376
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 12, 2017

In Oct 2009 I acquired a renovated farmhouse which has nearly 8 acres of land with beautiful views situated near Marvao. The land is varied & consists of terraces, some flat & rocky areas with 320 olive trees, cork & fruit trees, vineyard, bullrush ponds,

We currently have 3 friendly sofa loving & playful dogs, 4 crisp stealing affectionate cats, 5 ungrateful cheeky geese, 5 dappy curious sheep, a mixed bunch of 20 plus entertaining chickens / chicks, talkative ducks & last but not least there are the 3 characterful donkeys. In other words liking animals is very important ...... If you do not 110% GENUINELY enjoy being around them ...... please choose another host!!!

** all the animals are primarily pets. However, even though I rarely eat meat now, very occassionally practicalities have necessitated in the past that a goose or male lamb has gone in the pot / freezer (not very likely to happen from now on - just so you know).

July & August is hot - so unless you are ok with getting up early (6 /7am!) to do jobs .......... visit after mid September!

Examples of jobs that currently need doing are land clearing as the brambles & ferns are always plotting world domination!, creating a garden, building raised beds, giving the current garden some TLC, tree planting (I would love to create a forest garden), building a compost toilet, collecting donkey poo, watering & maintaining compost piles, fencing, some restoration work of a chossa (round stone building) & outdoor stone bread oven, decorating (indoor & outdoor), laying of stone patio, kitchen refit, building of predator proof goose house & run, general looking after the animals & giving them TLC (tender loving care), donkey training (when the weather becomes more reasonable we will be taking them out on walks again .... which they love & is enjoyable for all of us) & probably loads more things that I haven't thought of yet!

** November / December is olive picking time.

Although there may be some opportunities to work alongside others it is vital you can work independently & without the need for someone to be looking over your shoulder! -:) ..... I really dislike having to do this.

Good common sense, maturity, ability to problem solve independently, enthusiasm & a willingness to get involved are all much appreciated.

My first language is English but I am Dutch. I also speak a smattering of German & French and am focusing on learning Portuguese. Until recently long term Helpxers were living here who came for a few days initially and then took up residence in my caravans for 3 & a half years! They liked to be very independent & had converted my 2 caravans into a lovely abode for themselves in one of the most gorgeous spots on the property with stunning views across the valley to the mountains.

I tend to prefer Helpxers who can commit to at least a minimum of 2 weeks (if it works well for both of us then a longer stay is welcomed) - I am actively looking for some long term helpers again. If you have good work ethics, get yourself a good reputation & can turn your hand to many different skills there are sometimes opportunities to get paid work within the local area.

Facilities include all mod cons, wifi, washing machine, accommodation (depending on availability) is either an ensuite room in the house or the comfy caravans with separate warm shower (in the house wintertime or solar shower with a view in summer! ). There is plenty of space for a camper van or camping.

I have a particular interest in animal training having gone on a wide variety of courses around the world (incl. 4 weeks in America training chickens! Google Bob Bailey Chicken Camps) & would love to reconnect with my love of having fun with my animals. Dance of all kinds is another source of enthusiasm & I even started Modern Jive classes here but I'm not sure that rural Portugal was ready for it!!

Anyone coming to stay must to be happy to spend time in very quiet peaceful surroundings (the Algarve this is not! Hence, no discos or heaving sardine packed bars!!). There are however lots of places of interest to visit, beautiful walks, quiet roads for cycling (3 bikes for Helpxers use) and a very, friendly & sociable international community. I am happy to show people around when time permits & include you in social events. However, experience makes me need to say that it is appreciated if visitors are also able to entertain themselves!

If you like what you read please contact me with a bit of information about yourself & why you would like to visit. In your email please answer the following questions - do you smoke / drink, what are your hobbies / interests? What kind of food to you like / not like to eat? I generally prefer to invite people to stay who have references. Looking forward to hearing from you.

** I'm a Flexitarian! We eat mainly vegetarian with occasional fish or meat.

1. Top olive orchard - April 2010
2. The local village of Marvao.
3. View across some of the land towards the house - Nov '09
4. Medieval festival in nearby Castelo de Vide - summer 2009
5. Roman Road close to the house - October 2009. A beautiful walk up to Marvao with amazing views.
6. Bottle feeding the lambs in their outside boudoir - Jan '10

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use