Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6475
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Castelo De Vide
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.5 hectares
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6475
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 19, 2014

Anybody want to help us stack wood last two weeks of september?

Hello, we are Alan & Carole. We moved to Portugal 6 years ago to live a healthier & less stressed life, and to live as best we can from running a smallholding, we need your help. We are in Castelo de Vide which is in the Sao Mamede natural park in the Alentejo region of Portugal, not far from the Spanish border. It is like stepping back in time here, women still wash clothes in communal washhouses and carry the washing home on their heads, men use horses and mules in the field. We have a small farmhouse in a valley with a stream running through it and about 8 acres of land, some usable, some just rocks.Although not strictly organic we use very little in the way of chemicals. We have a polytunnel,15 sheep and 9 lambs, will be getting more pigs, 2 rabbits and a cat! (and at the moment a calf whose mother rejected it). The list of work that needs doing is long and includes tidying the land and river, land preparation and weeding and harvesting of crops, cutting and stacking wood for winter, trimmimg trees, preserving crops, repairing the drive and general everyday jobs like housework and looking after the animals. If you have appropriate skills and experience, that's great, but if you don't you can come along to learn. Alan has spent all his life in farming especially working with animals & Carole has proven to be skilled in making pickles,jams and other foodstuffs to sell and keeping the polytunnel going, selling pot plants and veg.
The number of hours you work can be discussed with us in advance but we are looking for at least 4 hours a day, and we will provide meals and a bed for the night. Days off can be built in so you can spend time seeing the sights. You can visit hilltop castle villages, markets, ancient ruins, bars and restaurants.We will take you places or there are taxis, or you can walk or cycle to the village which is 6km away and has everything you need.
Accomodation is a bedroom with double bed,or you can pitch a tent if you prefer, bathroom/kitchen facilities are shared with us.
We are non-smoking, meat eaters but we can cope with smokers (outdoors only) Unfortunately we have so much meat in the freezer from our animals that we are saying no to non meat eaters for the time being.
We can collect you from the bus station or train station at Portalegre in Portugal or at Valencia de Alcantara in Spain. If you contact us we will try to respond as quickly as we can but we are currently not connected at the house and don't get to the library very often so please be patient.
We hope you will come and help us out and look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use