Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6498
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: NOT Easter till September
Area (ha): large suburban bush block
Persons: 1 or sometimes 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6498
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 20, 2012

G'day! Our home is in a suburb of Hobart, the capital city and cultural centre of the beautiful island state of Tasmania. From December to February it's Summer and daytime temperatures are usually around 20 - 30 degrees centigrade.

We prefer short stays of just two or three days, depending on current circumstances. You might like to spend a couple of days with us between your longer stays elsewhere in Tasmania, to give you a chance to access the Hobart city area while still being in a quiet, bushy environment.

Situated near the mouth of the Derwent River, Hobart has a pleasant port area and attractive beaches. Anyone who likes the sea can enjoy recreation time around the coast, including local or extended sightseeing trips by boat. If you stay with us on Friday night you'll be able to visit the city's famous Salamanca Market on Saturday morning.

Our property is a large sloping suburban block with a house, an informal garden of Tasmanian native plants and a vegie patch. It is surrounded by trees and bordered by a rivulet (small stream). The property is within walking distance of Hobart's CBD (30 mins), about 5 minutes by car or else a short bus or bike ride, yet feels like living in the bush. Possums, wallabies & native birds visit our garden. There are many opportunities for bushwalking, both easy and challenging - especially to the top of (sometimes) snow-capped Mt Wellington, one of the highest mountains in the state.

We're especially keen to have mature helpers - whether seniors or younger people with a mature attitude - who have experience of working at a job (paid or voluntary) and who can clean, wash-up and look after themselves. We prefer to have visitors who don't want to spend lots of time indoors on a computer or watching TV, but who are keen to get out and about in their non-working time. We definitely only want visitors who will not smoke inside.

Work will usually be 4 -5 hours a day and includes weeding, composting, mulching, pruning, developing garden beds, planting vegetables and doing odd jobs. Someone with carpentry skills would be especially welcome.

We belong to an urban sustainable living community, with ongoing projects to reduce our environmental footprint (see for more info). Helpers are welcome to attend these gatherings and visit the community's organic vegetable garden.

There is accommodation for 1- 2 people in our home (depending on other visitors) - share kitchen & dining. Mixed or vegetarian diet. We will prepare most meals for you and ourselves, but we'll also be happy to try food that you'd like to cook.

We can collect you by car from Hobart or environs by prior arrangement. We may also be able to take you on a long drive to the East Coast or to other areas of Tasmania if we are travelling out of Hobart during your stay with us. Amanda likes to learn and speak other languages.

If you're interested in meeting us we'd appreciate initial contact via email with information about yourself, including HelpX ID number and any previous experience as a HelpXer or Wwoofer. Please also ask any questions which might help you decide whether this is a suitable situation for you for a short stay of 2 to 4 days. If we can host you we will give you our other contact details later via email or by phone if you include your number.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use