Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6532
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6532
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 9, 2018

We`d like help immediately with some FARM and ANIMAL work (horses, dogs, sheep etc) and general farm, land and garden work.

Opportunity to learn about horse and dog psychology, and healing - for those who are interested.

We would be happy with someone coming here for a month or two - though sometimes we take people for a couple of weeks.

We like strong cheerful people who enjoy working outside and for those who like physical work there`s some of that too.

We have a small farm next to huge woodlands and Dartmoor. We have horses, sheep, dogs and cats. Also hay meadows and woodland and pasture.

We might be harvesting some wood from the woodland, building something, doing land and meadow maintenance, organising a barn, gardening, or painting.

Opportunity to care for horses - 2 ponies here, i may be able to teach you some natural horsemanship, and there is lovely riding in the woods if time permits.

Also opportunities for learning a lot about dog behaviour and psychology and training. Many dogs here. And cats. You must be an animal lover.

Judy is a trained healer and can also teach this, and Nick works in design communications and climate change.

You`d sleep in your own cosy caravan in one of our beautiful small fields or in the woodland. You `d have meals and live with our family in the house. Our house would be your home.

We have two 21 year old children who are mostly away at university and home sometimes in the holidays. . We have no TV, but like books and conversation. We have wifi.

Nick cooks really nice mainly organic and local food for us all. You will be a guest in our home, and we welcome you like a member of the family.

It is quiet here - please think about whether nature and the elements and animals and our family (sometimes four of us, and sometimes only Judy) are really enough to keep you happy for a while.

Also we choose to live quite simply - we don`t play pop music but listen to some classical or folk. We don`t use much central heating (But its very cosy in our big kitchen with lovely wood burning stove) You would be best suited to our home if you love nature and animals and like living quietly, simply and sustainably and wearing warm clothes.

In general we`d like help with a whole variety of things - depends on your skills, level of interest and also what needs doing at the time

The work could be with sheep and there is lots of other farm work, orchard or woodland work, and eco-building and gardening too depending on the season. There are dogs to care for too. Lots of help with learning about natural dog training if you’re interested.

There could be painting and decorating to do (safe Eco paints) and occasionally joining in to help keep the house clean too, if you`d like to. There are always more jobs than we can keep up with.

Different people like different aspects of the work, and we try to give you what you like best. its important that you should have a real interest in animals, country skills, farming and garden and maybe organising the house.

We want people who are non smoking, animal lovers, strong, cheerful, hardy and hard-working, friendly, used to physical work and who like being with animals, who like getting their hands dirty, and being outside - although if it`s something you like doing you could also spend some time inside helping us sort out the house a bit. You would hopefully enjoy having a go at whatever needs doing at the time. It`s not always exciting!

You will need warm real wool clothes, will be able to light a fire or be keen to learn, if you are in a caravan it will be simple, rustic, comfortable and heated. You will have a bathroom in the barn and also can use our facilities in the house of course. In winter we all sleep in the house.

If you play a musical instrument it`s a bonus to us to have live music in the house. Although nick and I don`t play anything.

You can borrow a bike if you can fix it. There is wonderful walking around. You will have the amazing, wonderful and alternative town of Totnes to explore, and other pretty little country towns. Dartmoor is wild and beautiful, great for walking, and there is a large National Trust woodland next to our farm, with the spectacular river Dart running through.

We work hard and fast but it`s good wholesome work and we enjoy it. People tend to come with different areas of interest and we try where possible to match the tasks with the people.

In exchange we offer you a warm welcome in our home, some new experiences, lots to learn, friendly times, sometimes family life, and wonderful countryside to explore.

In addition to short term volunteers, we will consider a long term volunteer.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use