Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6645
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6645
Region: Banks Peninsula

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 4, 2012

We live in Decanter bay, right on the beach, in a house built in 1851.

Our ornamental garden is magnificent and a very large, organic, vegetable garden provides most of our needs.

Fourteen hens and two roosters keep us in eggs.

Our family includes Marie, who does most of the gardening and will often work right alongside you;

Nata, 19, who is the funniest teenager, but is only with us during vacation time because she goes to school in Switzerland;

Leo, 8, our little girl, who will recruit you as a playmate if she can;

Felix, 4, the cutest, funniest, most affectionate child on earth, and no! you may not take him with you when you leave;

And finally, Brad, a fabulous cook, who makes all our bread and knows everything there is to know about organic gardening.

The work usually centers on gardening, though we do enjoy using people's particular skills. We had a mural painted by a helper, another one did construction, another insulation, one chose to spend the time with the children to free Marie to work outdoors, and so on.

The helpers are lodged in our batch, away from the main house, in a comfortably furnished/heated room, with their own DVD player.

It has neither kitchen nor bath though, so helpers usually spend a lot of time at the main house.

We treat our helpers like family members,(Yes! You have to help with kitchen clean up! ;) ) and try to give them a really enjoyable experience in exchange for their labor.

Swimming is great on our sandy beach, through only from November to April.

We have a hot tub right on the beach to soak their weary bodies at the end of the day, a sea kayak if they want to explore the bay, and a great DVD collection, just for them...

We need helpers all year round, couples, friends, singles, we are happy to have anyone who wants to be in our little paradise for a while.

Right now, our need for help is rather URGENT, as we have to plant the whole garden and keep up with the weeds...

We like our helpers to stay with us for one week minimum, but really enjoy it when they stay longer, as it gives us a chance to really get to know and enjoy each other.

One of our favorite helper of all times, Alicia from Italy, stayed for over a month. A couple, Hugh and Helen from Scotland, stayed 4 months!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use