Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6707
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: see note*
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: couple
Category: Other
Host ID: 6707
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 17, 2018

I live about 12km north of Kerikeri, in a small house with a big wild garden. A stream runs through it, and there are many birds and insects. Lots of unusual plants. Having been away from home for part of the last three summers, it's got out of control! So, I especially welcome people who are interested in plants, organic gardening, and the natural world. I have a dog and Araucana chickens, which lay blue-shelled eggs. It's too far to walk to Kerikeri, so if you don't have a vehicle, you may feel isolated. By car it's about 10 minutes to kerikeri; maybe 15 minutes to Puketi forest; 20 minutes to beaches. There are also glow-worm caves, and hot pools, within about half an hour's drive

I prefer to host couples who are fit, happy, independent, and have good practical skills. Most of the work which needs doing is in the garden. There's also some painting to be done, and firewood to be split and stacked. There are lots of half-finished projects - your help will be appreciated! The work goes faster and is more enjoyable when it's done with other people.

Your accommodation is in a private cottage, a converted cowshed, (see picture #1) with a living room and kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom. One queen-size bed. (This was where our daughter lived before she married.) Limited wifi available, at the main house only.

Helpers work three hours a day, plus cleaning their accommodation. In return I supply breakfast; we eat morning tea and lunch together; and you provide & cook your own dinner (we usually eat at least one dinner together). Usually people arrive in the afternoon and don't do any work that day, but do a few jobs and clean the accommodation thoroughly on the day they leave.

Please inform me if you are gluten-free or dairy-free, or have any other special requirements, when you first contact me.

I like to start work early so that the work is finished before it becomes too hot, and to leave more time for your relaxation and explorations.Stays will be about a week, which may be extended if we're all happy. Non-smoking household.

I enjoy hosting people on their journeys, as our family lived aboard a small yacht for 19 years, working our way around the world. I like to feel that I'm paying forward the kindnesses that we received.

*Winter stays may be possible if you don't mind working in light rain. The accommodation is unheated, but is a sunnier building than my house.

A tip for travellers: don't park your car under gum (eucalyptus) trees - they can drop large branches without warning!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use