help exchange   Host 6786
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Dordogne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6786
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 11, 2019

Update (Nov 2019)
We are looking for a couple of enthusiastic helpers who would be happy to help us in our organic fruit and veg garden, the other gardens and also other jobs around the place including gite/yurt changeovers, looking after customers, helping to prepare meals and tidy up in the house and generally just living as part of our family.

There are always projects on the go that you can get involved with also including tree planting, building a puddled pond, building a cob bread oven, renovating an old pigeon tower and flooring a cart shed to make it suitable for group yoga,it will be a really busy crazy time but should be fun as well.

Please see our website and Facebook page for more information on what we are about and get in contact if you are interested.

In return for all of your hard work you can expect to have some great evenings around the camp fire chatting or playing music and enjoying great food and the odd glass of local wine. There will also be opportunities to learn some new skills including green woodworking, yurt making, bee keeping and composting humanure.

Your accommodation might be in a yurt, tipi or our gite depending on the time of year and whether we have guests staying at the time The area around here is exceptionally beautiful and you will have ample chance to explore.

Host Profile:
We are an English family who has been living on a smallholding in the North Dordogne countryside for over fifteen years. We rent out a holiday gite, and Matt my husband is a willow craftsman - he makes woven willow fences and other garden products as well as living willow structures - we have a willow plantation of 25,000 willows which we harvest annually. We also have a small flock of sheep, hens, dogs and a cat as well as an orchard and a big veggie patch and polytunnel and depending on the time of year we have a couple of pigs. We are attempting to be as self-sufficient as possible and aim to do so in an organic and sustainable way.

Life here is very busy and we have to work hard to complete the many different projects that we have on the go and 2018 will be no different. Nine years ago we made our own yurt, Matt made the structure with his own willow and me (Wendy) sewing the canvas cover. In 2009 we set up a small eco-camping business - just one yurt with its own composting toilet, bathroom and outdoor kitchen - it was a great success and we now have four yurts, each unit is very individual. For this season we intend to develop the communal area, Le Jardin Splish Splosh for our clients and develop the whole site generally and also the kitchen garden. And that is where you come in - WE NEED YOU! - if you are interested in helping in the kitchen garden, making another yurt, or help with building round wood structures, fencing, general carpentry, landscaping, woodland work, coppicing willow, renovating an old van or generally helping on the small-holding.


HelpX accommodation would either be in the gite or in a yurt/tipi depending on bookings and the weather - wherever, the units are well equipped and bed-linen would be provided. We're in a rural location with the nearest bar being about 4kms away and the nearest small town is 6kms - a car would be useful but we have bikes that you can use to get about on or explore the area. We'd prefer non-smokers but smoking is allowed outside the accommodation.

We speak English as our first language at home followed by French (and the children speak a bit of Spanish). Most meals are taken with the family (you might want to have breakfast in your own kitchen but if so we'll provide the basics) and everyone helps and shares with the cooking and clearing up. We'd like volunteers to work about a 6 hour day over 5 days but we're pretty flexible about when you do your work if you want to do other things as well - skilled helpers would be fantastic but not essential - we are after people who are highly motivated and hard-working, and who are open-minded and want to learn, enthusiasm is sometimes more important than experience!!

The nearest SNCF train stations are Angouleme and Perigueux - we can pick you up from either (www.sncf.fr).

If you would like to find out more then please take a look at our website at or find us on facebook and feel free to contact us if you have any further queries. Look forward to hearing from you soon, Matt and Wendy. xx

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use