Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6815
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Helston
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): one acre
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6815
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 26, 2018

THE LIZARD VILLAGE

We will be renovating, decorating, improving the house and garden.
Propagating plants.
Pruning, planting, weeding, composting.
We will be doing changeovers, washing, and laundry.
Meeting and greeting customers.

Later we will be moving to a new location.

The main word here is : Community.
We live together, work together, and you may have to share a room. Itís more than a team, itís a family.
You will meet people from all over the world, discover traditions, learn work skills and practice community life.
When you leave here, you leave with memories for life, friends by your side and sometimes, love in your heart !
ę My experience at Jonathan `s place was one of the best experiences of my life. I spent 5 weeks in that amazing place with amazing people, I made friends which I hope to see again! : Irving. Ľ

A place for you :

If you are stuck and need somewhere to go, ask us. We might just have a place for you!

Our ideal home stay is about 6 weeks. Very often you can stay longer or less. Thatís up to you.

On average we have 4 men and 4 women volunteers at the same time.
This creates a lot of fun and happiness in our house!

We also have special placements available for 12 months.

Work :
Jobs can include:
- maintaining the garden
-indoor work such as washing, ironing, cleaning and cooking
- cleaning and changeovers
-Office work. Answering the phone and taking bookings
-Looking after our guests
- general handy work around the property, building & renovation
- painting, decorating
- building conservation and construction
- gardening
- propagation
- we could use some help with our website, filmmaking and advertising skills could be useful too

We are not specifically asking for knowledge but for motivation and interest as we can train you !

On average we work between five and seven hours per day. Five days per week (weekend off). Depending on the time of year and the jobs that need to be done.

We supply waterproof clothes for dirty jobs or for when it is raining. We have waterproof boots, but you may still want to bring your own working shoes.

Life :
All meals are included : up to 5 times a day ! (breakfast, tea-break 1, lunch, tea-break 2, dinner). 7 days per week!
We eat fish, but we don`t eat meat. No worries, the meals are often amazing !! (= world food !)
If you are vegetarian or vegan, you will be welcome.

We have WiFi and TV.
We have a washing machine and a hairdryer that you can use.
We have bedding and sheets, but you should bring your own towel. (If you donít itís not a problem we can lend you one!).

Arrivals and departures:.
It is best for you and for us if you can arrive between Sunday and Wednesday and depart Wednesday to Friday. (Monday and Tuesday departures can be difficult as new people will be arriving and no beds for them to sleep in!) Of course, we will always be able to accommodate you somehow :)

How to get here:
Many helpers fly to London, Heathrow or Gatwick are best. They then take a train to Redruth Cornwall and then a bus to The Lizard.

Some fly to Newquay, either from Gatwick or direct. The problem with Newquay is there is limited transport from there to us, unless you are lucky enough to make the right connections. This means getting to Newquay early in the morning. (By about 10am)

From London, and Bristol, there are also overnight buses, and coaches, such as mega bus. (To Truro, Redruth, Camborne, Penzance) These take longer to get here but are usually a lot cheaper. (Again from Truro, Redruth, Camborne, Penzance, you get a bus to St. Keverne)

From Truro there is the bus to The Lizard.

Some have flown to Newquay airport and pre-arranged a taxi to us. The taxi costs about £70.00

All of the above are possible, depending on your budget and time you spend travelling.

To plan your journey here you can log into http://www.travelinesw.com/

Do I need:
Sleeping bag : No
Work gloves : No, not necessarily.
Boots : May be that`s up to you, we already have some.
A K-Way : We have waterproof coats!
A flashlight : May be useful sometimes
Towels : Yes
Bedding : No
Plug adaptor : Yes, if you want to use electricity ! (Although we have plenty hŤre)
Dress, hill, shirt, tieÖ : you probably wonít need that !

Generally, we can supply most things you may need. While you are here you will not need to buy anything.

Hobbies :
Surfing is available locally, and The North Coast Surfing is only 40 minutes away.
There are many local walks. Especially along the coast, which is very beautiful.
The Lizard village has two pubs, shops, post office, newsagent, and a very pleasant community.
As we are surrounded by the sea, we have a very good fishing area! You can bring your fishing tackle to catch fish but there is also shellfish picking available.

Plus..
See below for video link from our helpers.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use