Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6855
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: feb-november
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2 preferred
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6855
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 9, 2015

We are an English family living in central Portugal on a smallholding of about 2 hectares. We grow as much of our own produce as possible.
Currently on the farm we have sheep, , 1 goat, , chickens and geese and now we have bees which all free-range on the land
Help is needed with the veg garden, general maintainence and water management. We have stone walls and terraces to restore and manage small patches of woodland for winter fuel. We will be getting a yurt in 2 weeks so we need people who are good with wood to help build a compost loo and solar shower .

We are located 16km from Gois in mountainous surroundings. We will aim to provide lunch and evening meals (vegetarians welcome), but will also provide facilities to self-cater on busy days. Most people are happy to sort out their own breakfast in the truck. We make regular trips to Gois so supplies can be bought. We ask for contributions towards wine or beer if wanted.

There is a cosy truck or camping accommodation with a compost loo. We have electricity...both mains and solar/wind power.
We look forward to meeting new people and the sharing of ideas to create a more self-sufficient lifestyle for us and our two children (aged 11 and 6)...
We would like volunteers to work 6 days a week for around 5 hours a day, which is flexible.
We hope that guests will be respectful of our home and surroundings, and of our family time in the evenings...although we will often enjoy nights around the fire or bread oven. We invite people with any or no skills..just enthusiasm. Help in the kitchen or with the children very welcome!

Starting soon....
We have plans to create a small house on our land using earth bag and rammed tire techniques.. Now the initial excavation has been done ...So if you are interested in learning alternative building skills or have some experience in this kind of work please get in touch....

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use