Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 687
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes
Area (ha): town sized section
Persons: Couple or 2 share
Category: Other
Host ID: 687
Region: Marlborough

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 19, 2017

We are a self-employed couple (and part time clay artists) in our 50's and we are looking for people who can help us develop our town sized garden areas with soft and hard landscaping as well as helping out with whatever is on at the time. Helpers must be independent outside work hours and experience with gardening or building would be an advantage.

If you're interested please read description below and email us first with your profile link and when you want to stay etc

2 hours work for each night stayed* is required in exchange for bed & breakfast, free national landline calls, TV, WIFI, video library, games, books etc in the self-contained bedsit with queen bed. Couch is available for sleeping also. Breakfast includes (often homemade) bread and jams, spreads etc, cereal, eggs, yoghurt and rice if required etc. All other meals/snacks are self-catered

Work may include building raised beds for veges, planting trees, making compost and general gardening work or inside tasks such as building, painting, and/or cleaning etc.

*We may also get you to sell at a local market occasionally on our behalf and, if doing this, an early start, 6 hours work, your own vehicle (we'll pay your fuel) is required. (You get 2 days off for the extra hours done). We will endeavour to let you know what jobs are on when you get in touch with us.

The self-contained flat is in a separate building attached to our clay workshop and has French doors that access a patio overlooking a stream, the summer dipping pool and some wild ducks.

Rai Valley is situated halfway between Blenheim and Nelson (time wise) on SH6 (the main route) and is close to swimming holes, fantastic walks, Pelorus Bridge Scenic Reserve, the turnoff to Durville Island, Tennyson Inlet, Okiwi Bay and the local pub and small shop. Buses or shuttles pick up/drop off 50m from our place. There is good cell coverage here and we prefer no smoking on the property thanks.

Best to bring self-catering supplies with you although we do a have a small shop/takeaway in town.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use