Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6942
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 2 couples, 2 singles
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6942
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 8, 2017

Happy to take enquiries for summer work.

Our current work programme is not quite complete and keeps on being expanded. So....always plenty to do here particularly in the garden. If you consider you have some special talent to offer please contact us. Helpxers with carpentry skills or handyman/woman skills are particularly welcome.

Our help preference is couples We are meat eaters so catering for non meat eaters can be a little difficult.

We are a friendly couple in our mature years...., very energetic and still both working full time in the city - around 56ks from our farm, south of Christchurch. We do a daily commute to Christchurch city during the week, except when we are on leave. In our spare time.........we grow hazelnuts and olives, have 2 energetic burmese cats with personality plus. The help we need is relatively generalized - help with cleaning, cooking, gardening, pruning trees, general tree care, possibly various house repairs and small tasks, property improvements. We are willing to provide food, but not necessarily cook all meals - we are asking for 4 hours per day - but very willing to be flexible so you can explore the area. Only non smokers welcome.

Visitors would have to share a bathroom with another couple along with the toilet. The downside might be that visitors ideally need their own transport - while there is a bus service (main road south) from the city to the village of Dunsandel, it is another 13 ks to our property. If you have no personal transport please note you will be dependent on us. Reasonable access to satellite wireless, particularly if you have your own laptop. Please note we have a data cap on our wireless so excessive use from the helper costs us money. Skype can be problematic for the same reason. Cell phone coverage is pretty patchy - texting is usually fine, but to actually make a cell phone call you might have to stand out in the paddock to get any reception at all :-) LOL

We also have a small heated plunge pool which is lovely to use after a days work.

All our experiences have been positive ones. Taiwanese, South Korean, Hong Kong, Austrian, French, British, Maltese, Chinese, Malaysian and Israelis, Dutch so far. Summer is the time for us to get our property in order so there is always plenty to do. Our ideal time to introduce a guest is a Friday evening after work so we have the weekend to get to know our helper before we return to work in the city the following Monday. However we will work in where this isn't viable. Contact us please - lets talk>>>

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use