Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6955
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Feb - November
Area (ha): 1.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6955
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 15, 2010

Small organic vegetable garden (no official status), house renovation, building conversion.

What we are doing:
We are renovating an old farmhouse using reclaimed, recycled and natural materials as far as possible. We also have a large space above our old cattle stalls that we would like to convert, simply, into a community, party, meeting, workshop space also utilising reclaimed and recycled materials as far as we can. Any skills covering any of the above are always welcome.
To help pay for some of the things we need and to feed ourselves and our guests we are creating a small organic vegetable garden which will take up most of our time along with managing our ageing orchard. We now have 6 chickens and fresh eggs
What we need:
We truly need help in setting up our vegetable garden as this will be the heart of our project along with our apple orchard. Gardening skills of all descriptions or just a plain willingness to work the soil, plant seeds and tend the vegetables would be just perfect.
If you are a happy person, willing to do a bit of work in a really nice space then get in touch and tell us a little about your self. Our deal is that you do 4 hours work a day for five days a week for a minimum stay of 2 weeks. We will give you somewhere comfortable to sleep (only a little like indoor camping) and feed you mainly vegetarian food and usually home-made bread. We will do our best to show you as good a time as we can. We make our own music, watch videos, attend the odd party and generally enjoy a happy, simple life.
Nava, our nearest village is about 35 minutes walk (or you can borrow a bicycle) and has all the usual amenities and shops, supermarkets, tobacconists, pharmacy and bars (train and bus). Oviedo, capital of Asturias, is only 35km and the marina city of Gijon is 55km.
Asturias is in the north of Spain between Galacia and Cantabria. Called the ‘Coste Verde’ it is indeed very green and that means plenty of rain! Stunningly beautiful mountains, lakes, rivers and forests (there are still wild bear and wolves here). Walking, canoeing, climbing and mountain biking and, of course, the beaches (30km), although we cannot guarantee sunburn!
Between us we speak Spanish and English; I also have a little French.

A different way to see a different Spain.

Get in touch

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use