help exchange   Host 7034
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: May to October
Area (ha): 4.45
Persons: upto 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 7034
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 3, 2016

An old papermill in a lovely wooded valley next to a river. 9 miles from Bath and 4 miles from the train line to London.

We have been working on the mill for 7 years bringing it back to life. We are restoring a variety of traditional buildings including an old farmhouse and barns and industrial mill buildings.
Over time our aims include reinstating hydro-power, providing craft workshops, running courses and making the mill a vibrant part of the community.

Camping (or two caravans) in a pretty field.Food provided for you to cook in a covered outdoor kitchen.We will cook a vegetarian supper twice a week. Lunch will be shared most days at the house.
Unless you are particularly hardy May to October is best. We would prefer stays of one to three weeks.
Work 4 hours per day or 28 hours a week. You are welcome to do more than this but we would also like you to explore the local area. We are undertaking conservation work including restoration of 200 year old stone barns. Other work includes site clearance, stone walling and repointing. Putting in drains. Reroofing and making stairs. Partioning in industrial buildings. Making windows.

Wood fired pizza oven and open fire available. We can provide bicycles to explore the area and tents to stay in. 2 caravans are available.
Toilet and washing facilities are basic. There is a composting toilet but no showers. The nearest showers are at the sports centre (Corsham,3 miles away). You would need to cycle to these or we go into Corsham several times a week.

Good places to visit include Bath, Castle Combe, Dyrham Park, Lacock and Bristol.

There is space in two caravans, for 2 or 3 people or two couples. We are taking volunteers from 1st September 2016 to 21st October 2016.
We prefer to have volunteers for stays of two weeks. It is best to have some company so we prefer couples or friends, single people are welcome if we can fit you in when someone else is here.

We are a friendly family and would make you feel at home.

We had a great summer in 2015 with a spanish couple and a New Zealander In 2014 we had 3 spanish helpers and a British couple. Thank you all for your hard work.

Sorry we can't take anyone until after 20th August 2016.

Thanks for looking

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use