help exchange   Host 7093
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Beggerow/ OT Gatschow
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0,3
Persons: 1-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7093
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 13, 2012

I live in a loose collection of families within a small village in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern in the north of Germany. In our neighbourhood we do lots of things together, like cooking the daily lunch (vegetarian), preparing wood for heating, ... . There are kids aged from 6 to 17. In May also the local shepherd from the protected landscape behind the village moved in.
Two of my neighbours have a shop for organic food.Three times a year we run the historical wood fired oven at a fair in a castle ( Next fair is 23th/24th of June and we are always happy to have two hands more especially during this weekend... .

!We have a time gap for "last minute helpers" for the rest of June and the first week of July. We are not here from the 9th to 22th of July!

I also look for some artists/people who are interested (and able) to make little (or big) ART-PROJEKTS especially with children! Music, painting, photograph, video, pottery.... .
I am open for ideas... !!!

In the summer and autumn there are normally other international helpers/guests here in the village

This is the second home I am reconstructing myself with a lot of energy and according to my ecological desires but a minimum of money. That includes, that I very often recycle materials and use eco-material like clay and wood.

I have a small garden (100m) for fresh fruits and vegetables next to my house, and grow the other food (vegetables for preserving and storage) in shared gardens elsewhere.
I do not keep animals for use but there are a dog and some cats living together with us.

All that means: You can learn lots of building and garden skills at my place!

Behind the village is protected landscape and there is a nice lake in just 4km. The next little town is in 9 km. From the next railway-station (4km ) you can go to Berlin and Stralsund every hour.

The aim of my work is building a nice place with plenty of things happening for my family (I have two children aged 11 and 12), neighbours/cohabitants and guests. I want to live as self-sufficient as possible in a non-commercial-network with other people including food production, education, health, culture etc.

Plans for 2012:
A little porch roof for the front door is planned. The green house needs to be finished and some nice other "extras" in the garden. The barn, made of natural stone, needs to be repaired.
And there are several other things to do: Sawing and chopping wood, gardening, cutting the grass, bushes and trees, housekeeping (cooking, preserving food, cleaning), tidy up the barn and the shed, paving small places/ ways, build a wooden fence, repairing parts of the adjoining buildings, fixing tools and bikes, ... .
I am sure that everyone can find a work according to his skills.

If you are interested in drumming, Non violent communication or tree-climbing I can arrange you a workshop.

You will stay in a nice big wooden trailer (with an oven!). Sometimes you have to share your bedroom with other helpers or guests.

I look forward hearing from you!

Little warning: No TV, no permanent warm water, vegetarian lunch, compost toilet.

Notice: The "bubble" in the map is not exactly on the village Gatschow, because otherwise it would not been shown.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use