Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 7115
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: 1st April to 15th oct
Area (ha):
Persons: never more than one
Category: Backpacker Hostel
Host ID: 7115
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 21, 2017

This Guesthouse was founded in 2010, it is a work in progress. We have hosted many guests by now but there is still a lot of work. The place is located in a small village in the Italian countryside. Many of the houses next to it are abandoned. The B&B consists of several rooms in different buildings that belong together.
At the moment we are restoring the old houses, therefore work is mainly construction work, such as cleaning old wooden doors, cleaning rusty railings, taking off old plaster. Work might be hard, but it is rewarding because you can see right away that you created, improved something.There will be help needed also with the guests, taking care of breakfast, and cleaning the communal areas. Since I cannot offer meals, I only request 3 hours of work per day. In this area grocery shopping is not so expensive. In the little village next to Via Piana there is a grocery store. There is also a discount supermarket in Sora where you can buy 1 kilo (2,2 pounds) of Pasta for 0,70 euro cents. Also at the local food market on Thursdays you can buy very cheap fresh and local food. You can prepare your meals in the communal kitchen that we just finished building in 2010. Since we are planning on making a small organic vegetable garden soon for the volunteers use, there will also be some gardening work. For the season of 2015 I need somebody to stay long term and help me cleaning the rooms.

Minimum stay is two weeks, but long term stays preferred. Also I prefer to host individual travelers. It just works out better for this project so we decided not to host couples or friends that come together. so if you want to come with a friend, please don't contact me. At the moment I only host one person at a time. So if you contact me, be sure that it is not a problem for you to be alone at times. Can you entertain yourself, or do you need fellow volunteers?



I will favour requests from french people, because I am inclined to study french over the summer.

Accommodation is in a shared room with up to three other people. The rooms might be rather rustic, some of them don't have electricity. So far there is no heating in the rooms, so people who suffer a lot from the cold should only come from end of April to the end of September.You should bring your own sleeping bag, because I cannot provide you with sheets or towels.
The bathroom is small but very functional. It is a communal bathroom that we all share.

In late October it starts to become cold here and we don't have heating in the rooms. However many people didn't mind since it can get warmer during the day if the sun comes out. I can provide you with lot's of blankets.

It becomes warm again in April.

The closest town is Sora (35,000 inhabitants) which is easily reachable from both Naples and Rome (two hour bus ride). There are many buses that take you from Sora to here, it just takes five minutes. There is a little grocery store in a village just five minutes from the Hostel. The place is located next to the Abruzzi National Park, which is a great place for beautiful hikes to waterfalls tracing down bears and wolves. If we arrange Activities for the guests such as horseback riding or the visit to the cheese-making shepherd to see how cheese has been made since the invention of cheese, volunteers are welcome to join in without being charged.

So far I am the only person that steadily lives here but many people come to help or visit from the close by farmstay. Because this place is part of a group of places that collaborate with each other. All three places host volunteers and we often help each other or do stuff together in our free time.
You can visit the farmstay to meet interesting people from all over the world. There is also a second farm, that belongs to the farmstay and is worth a visit. It is very rustic, there is no electricity or hot water, still people live there and enjoy a humble life far away from modern world luxury.

We are looking forward to meeting you and working with you.

Back to Top
Copyright Đ 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use