Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 723
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Nr Limoux, AUDE
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 unless requested!
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 723
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 1, 2017

I've been out of the HelpX 'loop' for a while due to work and commitments to the NGO in Cote d'Ivoire.

NOW looking for someone for a MINIMUM of 2weeks, we have a few big parties going on in the village & you should have a lot of fun! In return, I'm looking for someone who won't turn their nose up at chaos, is prepared to muck in & use their initiative. A lot of DIY work needs doing so ideally someone with some DIY experience.

This would mean a 4hr day/5 days a week in return for a room in the house, food and the odd glass of wine, a great social calendar (you'll pick up French quickly that way!) and free internet access!

Happy to take travellers who are interested in getting to know the real France and have an easygoing personality!!! I'm very much integrated into French life & spend summer evenings with my French neighbours who speak a little English, but you'll soon pick bits up!

I do have a hectic life but try to give HelpX'ers as much of a local experience as possible. I also take helpx's with me on trips to Andorra, Spain and the surrounding areas.

I speak a variety of languages and have lived & travelled extensively worldwide & continue to do a lot of travelling off the beaten track. I'm currently also involved with various projects in W.Africa.

I live in a wonderful small medieval village with a summer swimming pool, kayaking on the river and hills around for walking & rock climbing. Regular bus/train service to/from the village, I can also pick you up from Carcassonne airport 25mins away.

I have now have 1 cat, who is independant and lives in & out of the house, sadly the other two have now passed on!

The first HelpXer recommended it as a 'small, pretty village with basic manual labour, relaxed social atmosphere amongst host's village friends and will probably return'. I have now had a few Aussies who were all here initially for a week and stayed a month or more (not all via HelpX though!) due to the great village social life on arrival! A wonderful Canadian, a Zimbabwean stayed who was extremely lucky to go to a number of big concerts including meeting Johnny Clegg in person with me!!! A cycling 'wonder' breezed in here for a month, stayed two and a half!! He took over things at home for me whilst I worked & I managed to secure him a paying job in Morocco! Sadly said goodbye to a fantastic Kiwi helper who even came to Estonia with a neighbour & I. One veggie has left & she's sadly missed, an Aussie who came to Barcelona for a few days with me & went off to Corsica - then returned! Another young Aussie turned up, stayed 2 months and has been here several times during 2008 .. shame he's gone home now but another friend for life! It's what HelpX is all about I think!!

Sorry to those who have sent messages in the last few months. Work has taken over to keep the pennies rolling in. If I don't reply, please don't take it personally!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use