Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 7237
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Sao Teotonio
All Year:
Area (ha): 16
Persons: 2-4
Category: Other
Host ID: 7237
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 31, 2018

We have a beautiful place in the natural park, 15 min walk from the beach and the nice village of Odeceixe (at the northern border of Algarve). We are eco-friendly and propose small scale responsible eco tourism and workshops activities. We have started a permaculture project on the land.

In the summermonths june-sept., we need a responsable couple able to help us with the general cleaning of the rooms/sheets and garden maintainance.

The rest of the year we continue designing the garden utilizing the local resources, stones, wood and water running through the property. So we need people who want to help with more heavy work, carpentry, strimming in the land, stonebuilding, painting or maintainance and amelioration of the buildings in addition to the permaculture.
From end january, we are going to complete renovation of an old 1968 Bedford Bus. It is partly converted, but we want to extend the living area. Anybody who has exerience with that type of work would be of great help.

We provide comfortable accommodation in the guest rooms/apartments. Internet available.
In the summermonths the units are occupied so we provide private room in our house but helpers have to share kitchen and bathroom with us.

The arrangements about working hours can be discussed individually. We basically ask for 6 hours work per day, 5 days a week against food and accommodation or 4 hours against accommodation only. We often ask helpers to cook for themselves, eating together regularly but not systematically(there are good cooking facilities in the apartments and in the common kitchen). We are flexible about the arrangement and open to many other solutions if you have different needs. Atmosphere here is relaxed and informal, we are genuinely happy to meet new people and want them to feel at home, but we need people who are involved, willing to work and share the motivation for developing the project. Because we never take more than 2-4 helpers at a time it is not really the best place if you are looking for community like lifestyle. People who come here have to be reasonably independent in their work and in their lifestyle. We usually prefer to have people above the age of 25. We also usually prefer couples because the place is quite isolated.


You can see more pictures of the place and the region see our website link above.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use