Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 7293
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7293
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 22, 2017

*** looking for someone from 19 September for 10 days/ two weeks to help our daughter while we are away on holiday, horse experience, photography and cooking skills welcomed ***

We are an anglo-belgian couple retired to France with our 2 horses and miniature shetland ponies. French additions to our family include 2 dogs and the chickens. We are active in the local community and there are often events or meals to attend where French is freely spoken. Horses are a big part of our lives.

We would like to take on helpers to help and participate with everyday life, possible jobs include: helping with the horses and miniature ponies as a groom (mucking out and poo picking daily, feeding, tacking up, taking them out to fields, grooming, fencing) and work in the garden such as weeding, watering and collecting vegetables. The allocation of work depends on your abilities and skills and the time of year - less gardening in the winter for example.

We live in the French countryside, having your own transport or the ability to live out of town is therefore essential, but we can pick you up from Angouleme or Chalais train station or Bordeaux airport if required. Ideal situation if you like walking, cycling (bikes available) or reading, we live in a rural agricultural area with a farm just next door. We are quiet people who enjoy good food, have a comprehensive vegetable garden and make our own bread and beer. We are looking for responsible, independent helpers, who have good communication skills, don't mind a bit of tv, have a healthy dose of common sense and like animals. You will live in our house as part of the family and participate in daily life. Afternoons are generally free as we try and do work in the mornings, so hours are 8.30am to 1pm with some animal related tasks in the evening.

Our daughter is an Equine Sports Therapist and lives with us part time and helps to exercise the horses. There may be the opportunity for lessons with her during your stay.

The horses are used for schooling and Dressage, they are not ideal for novice riders so riding is only available on a supervised basis. We are interested in Dressage, Ride with Your Mind, Biomechanics, Awareness through movement (Tellington TTouch/TTEAM), Sports Massage and Natural horsemanship. There are lots of things to do on the ground such as learning about TTouch, loose lunging, groundwork and long reining. No horse experience is necessary to be a helper.

We speak English, French and Flemish.

Please specify if you have any special dietary requirements.
Unfortunately we are unable to offer accommodation to people travelling with animals.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use