Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 7427
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): small holding under 1 hec
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 7427
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 11, 2011

Upper Moutere is a small village with a Pub, local Store,School and Garage, about 30 minutes drive from Nelson and 15 mins to either Richmond or Motueka so it would be best if you have your own transport. Mt Arthur is nearby and is great for tramping. Beaches are a 10 minute drive, a bit further to the legendary Able Tasman.
Accomodation is a old but cosy caravan at the bottom of our garden so you would have your privacy - bathroom and laundry facilities are in the house. We both work, Craig with horses, doing hoof-trimming care and breaking horses using gentle horsemanship techniques. Tanya at the local Store. Ella our daughter goes to the local school. We have a young enthusiastic dog, a cat and 3 horses which we keep on nearby padocks.

Our property is in much need of some TLC. We planted and landscaped it starting 15 years ago and for some time were breeding and selling goldfish, along with pond plants and water lillies. Life has gotten a bit busy and there has been no time to focus on the land, so we are looking for people who have some gardening or labouring experience who can get stuck in and help us bring it back to what it was. We are not organic and I won't pretend that it is easy work because it's not just a matter of some light weeding (wish it was!) Experience with small machinery (chainsaw lawnmower, hedge trimmer)would be helpful but not absolutely necessary. I need to know that the people doing the work are competent and able as we won't be able to work along side you. Help in the house and kitchen is always welcome but we do need to focus on the garden. We are not slave drivers and a fair days work is always appreciated and we try to make your stay as enjoyable as we can. It is important to us that you are comfortable and feel at home here. If you don't have a vehicle we are happy to pick you up or drop you off if you want to explore the area. We enjoy showing off our beautiful area to our visitors and are happy to help you make the most of your trip.
This is not a party place but we always enjoy socialising with our visitors and learning more about them and where they have come from. We have hosted several people from a variety of places around the world who have always left favourable comments in our visitors book and we would love to meet some more.

It is getting warmer now but we have plenty of blankets and hot water bottles and the caravan has a heater. Most of our facilities are pretty basic but that's the way we like it - who needs to complicate things when they're pretty good already!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use