Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 7481
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 14
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 7481
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 20, 2018

We have a lovely small holding which is half broadleaved woodland, half pasture, with a stream running right by the house, 2 ponds, large veggie garden, orchard, greenhouse, small herd of rare breed cattle, sheep and dogs! (See photos below of a 2011 help-xer with one of our lambs and 2013 help-xers cleaning out the pond!)

We would like help with looking after the animals including our active dogs, woodland management, gardening, preparation and maintenance of grazing land, weeding, planting, harvesting, general maintenance, perhaps light decorating, ironing when it's raining....and whatever crops up! We expect some help around the house such as washing up after dinner and perhaps cooking the occasional meal.

We offer accommodation in a refurbished 16th century cottage which is connected to the main house (see photo of room below). This will mean help-xers have their own sleeping & bathroom area tho' occasionally we may have other guests staying. You will see from the photo below that it is a twin room and so if you are travelling alone, you will be sharing with another (same sex) help-xer. If you are a couple, we will do our best to accommodate you in a double room, although it will depend on friends we may have coming to stay.

We are wi-fi and you will get a good connection in your room. We don't have a signal here for mobile phones but you can just wander up our lane and will get one there! You are welcome to use our sitting room and we have a small selection of DVDs. Life here is quiet and pretty peaceful.

Often using our own produce, we eat a healthy vegetarian diet (unless Nigel manages to smuggle in some sausages!) and we'll feed you well! We take time to enjoy the wonderful surrounding countryside. We are near to Powis Castle with its stunning grounds, the beautiful black and white village of Berriew, the ancient town of Montgomery, the Montgomery Canal (great for running) and the Welshpool & Llanfair Light (steam) Railway. The Welsh mountains and coast are an easy day trip. The beautiful and historic towns of Shrewsbury & Ludlow are not far either.

Of course the downside of being tucked away as we are, means that we're almost 2 miles from the nearest bus stop! But we are are happy to take you to the bus from the village or the mainline train station in Welshpool.

We welcome help-xers from all over the world and would like to mention that we voted to remain in the EU!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use