Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 7485
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1 acre
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7485
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 17, 2013

Hi, we are Chris and Paul,


*** MUST be able communicate in ENGLISH ***

***We are a Private Home not a farm or business and CANNOT DO VISAS***

LOCATION Central West Queensland - near Longreach
We live quite remote and there is a shop here with all the basics but I do my main shopping 1 1/2 hours drive away, so stock up before you arrive.
We feel we are easygoing, funloving, happy souls, food loving, wine appreciating love lots of things really.
Paul is a very laid back aussie bloke, takes alot to stress him out.
Love animals and wildlife in general. Deserted beaches.My home and friends coming over.
LIVE MUSIC,MOVIES,FESTIVALS,we have BEEN TO SO MANY in Adelaide, and elsewhere. Huge change of lifestyle living out here.
Only a fishing contest here! and a race meeting!
We love reading and must have our daily fix
I love cooking and sharing recipies.
If you have a special meal from your Family or home town we would love you to cook for us, whether a main meal or a traditional dessert.

We are extremely rural, we moved just over a year ago to Isisford in central west queensland--- very Outback the nearest towns are Longreach-130kms and Blackall-120kms, there is nothing in between except road, reliable car essential to outback travel, repairs can take time and are costly!
We live in a small township of 120 people.
We have an interesting little "village" with small shop, post office, 2 pubs, museum/interpetive centre/cafe and swimming pool- in summer, we are a couple mins walk to the Barcoo River.
The winters (opposite to Euprope of course) are cold at night and dry and warm in the day, the summers can be very hot and a mixture of dry and humid weather.
The appeal of this place is its isolation, abundant wildlife, many birds, the Roos and emus who wander around at night and the green tree frog LULU who lives in the loo and the geccos and lizards in our house and garden, great as they eat insects, oh and the night sky is just magnificant.
There is good fishing down the river.


we do not have public transport here and being it is over 100kms away we would not be able to collect you

We live in a partly renovated old "QUEENSLANDER" up on stilts with about an acre of land around us but only 2 mins walk to township.SEE PHOTOS for some pics!
We have a guest bedroom with double bed, fully equipped with bedding and towels, one bathroom only and seperate loo.

If coming from Alice springs or Darwin you would come through Longreach and turn off just after Ilfracombe
If coming from the East Coast turn off at Blackall
OH and MAKE SURE you are travelling during the middle of the day if possible or go very carefully as many many animals on the road, including the dumbest- roos but also emus, goats, large cows, horses, foxes, wild pigs and dogs- these are WILD and BITE,and try to avoid the lizards as they are my favorites

***only Telstra NETWORK works out here***

4 hours work a day Per Person
Mostly gardening, tidying paths, weeding, trimming shrubs.
General maintenance, such as painting.
General house cleaning.
We have made up an information book which we will go through on arrival.

Stays of 1-2 weeks or longer, depends on how we all get along

Paul is the township Rural Lands Officer, I am not working at present.
We require 4 hours a day Per Person to cover accommodation and meals.
If you are up early this gives you plenty of time to explore our lovely region.
If you prefer to do a full day and have next off, this is ok, we can discuss at the time.

We are happy to provide 3 meals a day but extras *personal snacks, and drinks such as soft drinks and alcohol are not included*
We suggest you stock up on anything particular you want as the township has a limited shop for groceries.
We share the large fridge and there is a drinks fridge under the house by the laundry.
We do not expect you to help yourself from our fridge or freezer.
We expect you to make your own breakfast and lunch from *provided foods*
Evening meals are usually shared and we expect help with preparation / clean-up and do some cooking if you are able
*this is not counted as part of your working hours*.

Stores include:
Tea, Coffee, hot chocolate, cereals, milk, juice, yogurt,jams, preserves, peanut butter, bread, sandwich filling, such as cheese, ham, tuna, tomatoes,lettuce, fresh fruit, microwave soups instant noodles,etc.
PLEASE let me know when you are low on these.
we are not vegetarian but it isn't a problem for us if you are.
Please let us know BEFORE you arrive what you can't or don't eat, as going shopping required a trip of over 3 hours drive

We would normally only host 2 people at a time although if someone was travelling alone he/she would have the room to themselves
One guest bedroom with double bed, share bathroom and separate loo with us and the tree frog!
Bedroom has all linen, electric blanket for winter nights, air-conditioner and ceiling fan for the heat, plenty of storage space, and direct access to the front verandah.
DVD Player and large screen TV.
We would usually be having dinner together and if you want to watch tv with us it's fine but if you prefer not to we are ok with that.
You are welcome to use the lounge anytime don't feel you need to be in your room, we want you to feel at home, just want to let you have privacy if you want it.
We have a large verandah set up with an outside kitchen, eating and relaxing areas.

We have wi-fi available at home- reasonable use please.

We do not smoke and do not tolerate it at all in our home or on the verandah but in the grounds is ok, be aware we live in a dry country and life threatening fires are easily caused by careless smokers.

We look forward to sharing our home with you

pictures are of:

Paul and Chris in Perth for her birthday,
Unable to upload new photos at the moment

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use