help exchange   Host 7491
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


South Molton
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 24
Persons: up to 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 7491
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 8, 2018

Hello HelpXers - If there is anyone out there, available NOW, with a seriously healthy appetite and a great work ethic who likes to indulge in a good amount of meat, fish and eggs then please get in touch as I have more food than I frankly know what to do with! I'm looking for someone to do roughly four hours per day, five days per week (weekends off). More suited to someone with their own transport as we are a long way from town, although we do have some spectacular views to enjoy! Thus if you enjoy walking / hiking then this could well be the place for you. You will need to be physically fit or prepared to hurt for a few days until your muscles learn! If you are knowledgeable in the equine arena so much the better, but if not, no worries as I am happy to teach you everything I've learnt over the last forty odd years. I prefer longer stays to shorter ones - with a minimum of two weeks. Please DO NOT contact me if you are expecting central heating, cleanliness everywhere and someone to wait on you hand and foot as this isn't going to happen!
My animals are as follows: two sows, two goats plus four new kids, six cattle, six sheep, twelve equines, numerous chickens, a couple of geese, two Eagle Owls, four Barn Owls, three dogs, three parrots and seven cats!
Although I don't have central heating, I do have the most efficient log burner, and all the rooms have electric heaters. Please make sure that you have thoroughly read through and understood the list of reasons why NOT to come to my farm.
Accommodation is either a static mobile home or a caravan, with shared bathroom facilities which are located within my house.
If you are still reading, in order to prevent any time-wasters contacting me - please see the list below of reasons why NOT to come to my farm.
1. The farm is nowhere near the town, so socialising in the evening is limited to relaxing, reading, listening to music, watching TV, chatting, English lessons, sleeping etc.
2. You need to be a meat-eater - full-stop. I'm afraid I don't do vegetarian cooking ever! Also, I am a smoker, so if you are very anti smoking, then this is definitely not the place for you!
3. I can ONLY collect and drop off from the bus station between the hours of 7am (0700) and 7pm (1900), as I do have commitments! Obviously if you are bringing your own transport this does not apply!
4. I offer meals and accommodation in exchange for about 4 hours work a day (daylight and weather depending), Monday to Friday.
5. Livestock farming is not a business that generates wealth, so while I have no problem with you drinking alcohol, I ask that you purchase it for yourself, as I do not have enough money!
7. My house is very small, so the HelpX rooms are separate from the house, and the bathroom is shared. The house is also over-run with animals, and therefore is not exactly clean.
8. The weather in the UK varies enormously. I have wellies, gloves, waterproof clothing etc..but it is up to you to bring your own warm clothing!
Any further questions please contact me via email. Please be advised that I am unable to accept anyone who wishes to bring pets with them, as we already have many dogs and cats here, who are unwilling to share their territory with newcomers! Apologies to anyone travelling with pets!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use