help exchange   Host 7568
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Heriot Bay
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5 acres
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7568
Region: BC, Islands

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 31, 2019

I am a full-time artist and my husband is retired. Our lake-front home is in a remote location on Quadra Island with occasional artists visiting or helping with production in the studio. We would like to host a tidy, non-smoker in our home, to help in the studio, with housework and perhaps in the yard. We can only accommodate one person at a time. The studio help requires attention to detail and may involve help with framing, assembling gift cards, or preparing canvases and etching plates. Help with preparation for and perhaps participation in the summer and fall art shows may be needed. Computer skills would be useful with my database and newsletter.
My husband can always use help with the endless yard and house projects and the firewood, but the housework (cleaning) and studio help is our primary need. My website (see link above) can provide more information. A two week minimum stay is required. We have a kayak, and a canoe and an indoor small swimming pool. My studio hours are 9:30-4:00, five days a week. We have two cats and one very large, friendly collie. Oh, I love to cook, so come prepared to help in the kitchen at mealtime. We love vegetables, and grow many of our own, but we also eat meat and fish. Preparing special dishes gets complicated and we'd prefer to avoid those folks with strict vegan or vegetarian diets. Below are several images of our home and the lake we live next to.
So far we have hosted 47 HelpX'ers in the past nine years and it has been a wonderful experience with many lasting friendships established and we always enjoy those repeat visits. Perri and Larry

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use