help exchange   Host 7700
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2,5 hectares
Persons: up to 8 in the summ
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 7700
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 21, 2019

We are a couple : Luc and Martine, both of us are French, but we do understand and - at least as far as Martine is concerned - speak English fluently. We have 1 part-time employee,Gerald, 50 years old French, plus worldwide helpers coming and going, . We also have 2 pets : 1 "insider" male cat,Gris-Gris, 1 "outsider" female cat, Lily.
Luc has been passionate about organic gardening ever since his youth and has been an organic farmer in Burgundy since 1980. Before Burgundy, he went to work 2 and 1/2 years in Burkina Faso for the Cooperation.
Martine, after having lived in England, the States and in Canada and having being into macrobiotics, buddhism, yoga, new age, etc... for years, has moved on to be a fervent Catholic (and turned the page definitely) : as such and amongst other things, she blesses the meals and goes to church on Sundays.
We live in what used to be a watermill (unfortunately the wheel is gone ), set in the middle of rural, rather beautiful and touristic Burgundy, 230 km south of Paris, 200 km north of Lyon, 60 km of both west of Beaune and Dijon, 44 km east of Avallon, 30 km south of Montbard, 14 km south of Semur-en-Auxois, 8 km east of Précy-sous-Thil (the closest town ).
The accomodation is either in our house, a small converted pigeon house or yet another house on the farm. All these places have only but potential : the actual comfort being minimal.
Our meals are mainly vegetarian, but we also regularly eat chicken and fish. We have chosen to eat, with reason, good quality food (mostly organic ), rather than large quantities of junk food and expect our guests to be willing to do the same. By European standards, considering the cost of living, we are not rich people ; indeed, due to the increasing freakiness of the weather and consequently increasing amount of working hours, Luc makes an average of 3 euros an hour at the most. We share the meals with our guests, at least breakfast and lunch ; in the evening, due to our late working hours, we don't all necessarily eat together.
We request our guests not to consume any drugs, tobacco or alcohol. We feel strongly against these after witnessing, over and over again, their debilitating effects on the mind ( curiosity, intelligence, practicality, motivation, sense of responsibility) and body ( coordination, energy, endurance )...
We expect our guests to be dynamic, motivated to learn and to participate to the different activities living on a farm involves, namely, helping to prepare the markets ( 1 local weekly market, one bi-monthly Paris suburb organic market ) and, according to the season, seeding, watering, planting, weeding (indeed, aside from being The greatest ongoing challenge of organic farming, it's getting to be a much bigger problem locally due to near continuous rain fall - the 4 or 5 last springs - the worst from far, being 2 years ago - and summers and now autumn (the worst last year)- on our very heavy clay soil ), forcing the endives ( chicory family ), working the soil, gathering, as well as helping to keep the premises ( working and living quarters ) tidy and clean and helping out with the cooking. We also need "experienced" help (we don't have experience ourselves ) restauring the place (electricity, plumbing, roofing, painting, tiling...), as well as help with informatics (figuring the way to get ASL, changing computer, creating a blog, creating a new website, bettering the existing one, organising photo albums, etc...).
On sundays, when Martine is here ( she often goes to the south of France to take care of her elderly mum ), you have the possibility to go along to church with her ( choice of monasteries and churches ) and when the weather is beautiful to visit local sites. On that day and according to your partaking or not of the meals, your help will only be requested in the kitchen. You may also take your weekends off to go camping or whatever else you want to do.
We also expect our guests to be discrete, considerate of others and polite, tidy and clean.
As I'm sure you can imagine, we don't have much spare time to indulge in leisurely activities and hobbies (we don't even have a television ! ), but we do enjoy going to the cinema once in-a-while (not during the summer ) and love meeting people from different backgrounds and countries, as we've been doing for the last 28 years. We hope that you can be one of these and until we meet, may God bless you all....
P.S. : we have bicycles at our disposal but one must be willing to repair any puncture he/she might cause and eventually (& unfortunately) what the previous user didn't attend to....
Martine and Luc

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use