Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 7913
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Boulogne sur Gesse
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.5
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7913
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 30, 2012

We moved to this property just over two years ago. It is surrounded by beautiful countryside. The neighbouring property has a shepherd living there with a small flock of sheep & a small herd of goats, and the horses that are in the fields for the winter months will soon be taken up to the mountains in the Pyrenees for the summer.

My son (aged 32) is back helping us with a lot of the DIY, but every now and then he returns to where he lives to do other jobs. My daughter (aged 27) lives with her partner nearby and our grand-daughter had her first birthday in March. Both my son and daughter are completely bilingual and I speak French reasonably well ~ my husband still struggles! We are retirement age, but still very active. However, my husband is not a DIY person, but does love the garden. We really could do with some help on all sorts of levels and hope to find somebody who would enjoy being in France for a while.

There's usually some tasks to be done with our newly created veggie patch, keeping the grass mowed (ride-on mower), painting and decorating (inside and out), renovating the last of the three bedrooms on the 1st floor (we've done the other two). We'd equally love to welcome a helper who can join in with the other tasks around the house ~ sharing the cooking would be good if they enjoy having a go, and Jody (my son's dog) is always up for going for a walk when she's over here with us!

We enjoy eating outside and BBQ quite often (weather permitting). We don't object if cigarettes are outside.

We are a happy and relaxed home, whilst striving to keep things neat and tidy ~ not always easy when there's building work going on, but the aim to achieve is there!

Our own bedrooms are on the ground floor level and the guest bedrooms on the 1st floor level.
Our helper will have their own bedroom on the 1st floor, and the bathroom on that level (see the photo) is used only by them ~ that changes if we have guests to stay then they'd be sharing it with them (there are 2 WC's on that level).
There's internet available. Our previous helpers have come to us from a different direction; we have reviews from them available to you on request.

There are some lovely walks, the nearby village has a summer swimming pool and there's a lake not far from here. In the summer months, a lot of the villages have events going on at the week-ends ~ we go to some of these and are happy to take you with us if you're interested. We look forward to introducing our helper to the local region.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use