Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 79187
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: not in Winter
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 79187
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 29, 2017

My wife Gerlinde and me Henning are living in Sirksfelde, a small village near Hamburg and Lübeck in the north of Germany on an former farm with our grandparents Bruno and Brunhilde as neighbours. So we are a joint family, sometimes our children Maxi and Franzi are visiting us for some days.
We travelled a lot with our family and alone and we are very happy to meet people and let the travel spirit come into our home. We would like to welcome volunteers to spend time with them, to get to know different cultures, exchange stories and inspiration and give an opportunity to helpers to see the world.
Our daily routine is to go to work in the morning, we both work as teachers in different schools in Lübeck and Geesthacht and we come back during midday or in the afternoon. Its possible to stay in a small open room under the roof where we have some mattrasses and a beautiful view across our fields. The two bathrroms we have we need to share.

We have about ten cows, one cat, some chicken, ducks and recently a hawk is kept here by another neighbour. There is a big garden with flowers, trees, vegetables and grass.

So we have plenty of work to do for example we need volunteers to assist us with cutting trees and shrubs, designing and caring for our recently completed swimmingpond, cleaning the house and other houseworks and all the work which arises at this place. There are no fixed working hours because the work depends on season, and personal projects so we want to discuss details personally.
Bruno and Brunhilde don´t speak that much english but Brunhilde is very happy to try to speak some words, but she is so pleasent that she actually doesn´t need english to get along with open minded and communicative people. They will also be happy to get some help and some company. She also plays the piano and the accordian and if you are into music you can also feel free to use our or her piano. Bruno works a lot in his seperate workshop working with wood.

Our property name is Hechtistan and this name came from some funny jokes our children made with their friends when they still lived here, so after some time this developed somehow. As we live in a small village with only three roads there is the possibility to go for a walk into the forest, enjoy the beautiful nature or use the bicycle for a ride to the next village 7km away where you can find some shops. If you want to see the cities you can take the public transport to go to Lübeck or Hamburg, but the connection is not so often per day.

We are happy about getting to know some communicative, open minded people from all over the world who are interested to live some time with us and to help in our everyday life.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use