Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 79681
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 79681
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 23, 2017

We live in a historical water mill in the North East of Germany, (Branderburg Federal State). We aim to restore the mill and its outbuilding, set up a Hackerspace and permaculture farm.

We would like people to come, share their knowledge and participate in community activities linked to restoration of the old mill and its outbuildings, gardening, digital and hardware infrastructure, organizing and planning the future.

Since the beginning of the project we have welcomed many volunteers from all over the world, welcome to our volunteer information page.

Type of help we require:

Elderly Care
Cooking / shopping
General Maintenance
Help with Eco project
Help in the house
Animal care
Helping with Tourists
Art projects
Help with Computers / internet
At the moment we are focusing on restoration and self sustainability this includes tasks that require good physical fitness, we are looking for people who are not afraid of getting their hands dirty and getting involved in tasks such as cleaning, cutting trees, digging, building work, carpentry, restoration of furniture, harvesting, mowing, brick laying, making firewood, …

If you are into DIY and want to create stuff, we have task for you too.

But also if you like computer work we have already a lot to do: write documentation, here and there create social media content, programming for open source software we use, administration.

Languages spoken
German, English

If you are learning to speak German it's a good place to practice (but you have to remind us to speak German to you; sometimes English is easier and with a mix of people from all over the world we mostly speak English)


Shared rooms or single rooms with shared bathroom (only one bathroom) - depending on availability
Hot solar showers outside in the summer - hot shower and bathtub inside in the winter.
One shared kitchen.
Dishwasher and washing machine.
We are 3km away from the next village, 7 km away from the next train station, 15km away from the next shop. Have that in mind when you plan to come here. But we will probably go shopping once a week.

Internet access

2MB Internet Flat - but we want to fix that with Internet using a satellite soon…


One big guard dog & 4 chickens… maybe a cat too in the near future and 2 more dogs on the way In general we would prefer it if you do not bring pets with you on a long term stay


We are smokers, smoking is done outside and in a smoking room which doubles as the living room.

How many Volunteers can stay?

This depends on the season and our financial situation in general we try to keep the number between 3 and maximum 6.

How long can Volunteers stay?

We expect the minimum stay to be around 2 weeks unless we have gaps in our calendar in which we may need help. In general after 1 week we would know whether the 2 weeks stay can be extended for longer.

Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

A great opportunity to learn about life in the country, how to maintain and restore old buildings, spend time in the lush green countryside. If you like walking in the countryside, bird watching it's a great place to be.

Volunteering hours expected

5 hours a day, 5 days a week. If you are independent, you can get an independent work schedule. You can work more to get more time off also. We hold events at the weekend mostly so your days off may have to be during the week.

Code of conduct

All volunteers are asked to read and agree to our ideals before we can confirm their visit.

Transport to and from the train station

You should announce your arrival time at least 1 day before, when you arrive with train. We don't check our phones and messages every hour. If you arrive at the station unannounced and you can't reach us then you have to wait till you reach us or hitchhike to us otherwise we will be happy to get you from the train station. :)

Book me in!

OK, so please contact us and we will get back to you as soon as possible to confirm your volunteering spot.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use