Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 7972
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: NO
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7972
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 30, 2014

We are an English couple who moved here nearly 4 years ago for a slower lifestyle!

Darren was a landscape gardener in the UK & an avid martial arts fan who taught various styles of martial arts & also arranged competitions.
Mel was a shopkeeper in the UK & operated a strict fitness programme of walking to the pub & back regularly with mates!
We lived in N.E England and after coming here on Holiday 4 years ago we fell in love with Bulgaria and bought what was to be a holiday home. We decided that as we were both self employed we could quite easily move our interests elsewhere and decided to give it a shot by coming for a month in 2008. We absolutely loved it! We started gardening right away and instead of Daz creating patios and decks we were digging & creating veggie plots, coppicing our many fruit trees & trying our hand at building mudbrick walls! Life here goes at about 5 miles per hour, as opposed to 80 mph in the UK, everyone is so laid back and it feels very much 1970's England we think.

Anyhoo, now we're at the point where we're tending 4 large veg plots and a greehouse full of seedlings whilst trying to re-build our perimeter walls, help our friends tend an organic garlic field, oh and there's a huge barn that we took the roof off last year that needs demolishing & re-built as well as a bungalow on the next door plot to also demolish & re-build. We have most of a kitchen, but we have a working indoor bathroom now with hot water & everything!!

If you fancy a laugh for a week you're very welcome to come & join in. There's plenty space to pitch a tent weather permitting & there's an outdoor loo, or we can put you on the bed settee indoors if it's cold/wet. We can BBQ most evenings, or cook something up between us. We're happy to feed you & provide our meager accommodation in return for a bit of help around the place. We certainly don't do 10 hour labour intensive days & are quite social creatures with other English speakers in neighbouring villages that you'd be welcome to join in or not, whatever you wish.

Sense of humour is a must & if you're at all interested in martial arts Darren would love to take you along to a local 'sambo' Russian based martial art class, or you can put your feet up & watch the sunset with a beer like Mel does! If you like to fish, we try to go regularly & take a BBQ along for grilled fish later.
We have Wi-Fi :o)

Sorry....during the winter months up till March we cannot accomodate you. We'll be hibernating with our stash of homebrew!! Most of our ongoing projects are outdoors & therefore weather dependant.

If you know anything about solar power/wind turbines we'd love to hear from you & learn all about it before trying to get 'off the grid'.

Happy Travelling...

Update Spring 2012: We're gradually coming out of hibernation & have started planting like crazy. We now have a poly-tunnel that is amazing at growing weeds & not a lot else so far! Daz's brother, Martin bought a house over the road so we have an extra garden to tend...which we intend to keep pigs in! Our chooks are all doing well, the 2 teeny chicks grew up huge, much bigger than the others so we figure that the early months are vital to size & are encouraging our cockerel to get down to business, the incubator & nursery are built, ready!

Update Summer 2011: We got another 9 chickens, quite young, & 2 teeny chicks :o)

Update Spring 2011: We are now proud owners of 3 chickens and a cockerel!! Hoorah! They are laying eggs regularly which is really rather exciting :o) We are hoping to get more in the coming weeks now the weather is better....bring on the summer!!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use