Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 7977
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Kyle of Lochalsh
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .3
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 7977
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 8, 2013

I live in an old croft cottage on part of a croft in the Scottish Highlands. It is a very scenic and photogenic area with lots of hillwalking and nature trails. I am close to the seashore and a few kilometers from the famous Eilean Donan Castle (see photo), the 5 Sisters of Kintail, the Cuillins of Skye and Ben Killilan, 'where eagles fly'!
The house and grounds require a lot of work - including clearing hill ground of rock and scrub - so at present the placement might suit those prepared for farm-work or building rather than housework. Eventually, I hope to keep hens and grow vegetables organically. Also to do Bed and Breakfast. But that is in the future.
Cutting firewood, clearing and digging terraces, collecting stone for windbreak walls and putting up outbuildings is the main work now. Over the summer I need to urgently progress work in the garden and putting up sheds. Manual, joinery, stone working, plumbing skills and for leisure activity a liking for hill-walking would be a big advantage.
A very small room with a double bed is available and in summer, weather permitting,there will be accommodation in a wooden cabin or 2 x 3 metre marquee with beds and electricity.
The only animals here at present are two dogs, an old Labrador and a trained sheepdog but I and the dogs sometimes help with neighbours animals, horses, pigs, sheep.
In exchange for about 20 hours work a week to be worked flexibly according to the weather plus a share of the housework, I am offering accommodation, good food (vegetarians. vegans and special needs can be catered for) and help with sightseeing.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use