Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 79776
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kerikeri
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.3 8.15 acres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79776
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 8, 2018


WAIMATE NORTH is in the popular Bay of Islands region, near KERIKERI and PAIHIA

It is now the winter season. Someone might like to stay with us for part of this winter while the weather is colder and the days are shorter. Email us if you are interested. You will need your own transport and you will prepare your meals in your own self contained, all-electric apartment which is a part of our house as described below (read on .....)

We have 3.3 landscaped hectares with two olive groves of 150 trees and four large ponds with waterlillies and ducks and swamp birds.
Lots of birds and rabbits(all accepted and welcome) Two beautiful white swans and a goose called Eric.

An orchard of twenty trees includes avocados of four varieties on rich volcanic soil.

Area of mown lawns/groves is 2.2 hectares mown weekly by Graham. All very neat and peaceful. 200m of handmade rock walls. 200 metres of gravelled driveway and 200 metres of concrete driveway. Two electric self-opening gates. One lovely dog called Gemma.

A large, modern, two story four bedroom house.

PLUS a new self contained, fully equipped UNIT for use of helpers/guests. (In New Zealand a UNIT is also called a FLAT or a small apartment.) This 36 sm UNIT is fully independent and is equipped for comfort: the kitchen is brand new with electric cooktop and microwave oven. Fridge in unit, freezer space available.

There is a queen sofa bed in this UNIT plus a king single bed in a separate room within the UNIT. Hot shower. WC. Easy car parking alongside UNIT.

Please help Graham prune trees with pole chainsaw and tidy up. Odd jobs about the property as Graham broke his back and can only work from his quad bike or electric farm vehicle. Help with a small, rich vegetable garden. Noelle might like some help with housekeeping (eg clean windows with a window vacuum) and also with small gardening tasks in her gardens near the house. No more than about three hours a day (approximately)

Ask to stay EXTRA DAYS FREE, we will enjoy seeing you enjoy your visit.

HELPERS/GUESTS MUST PROVIDE THEIR OWN TRANSPORT AND FOOD : the all-electric kitchen has every facility.

Tea and coffee and basic seasonings supplied. Bedding and towels supplied. Share laundry available, top loading.

This is an excellent handy location for day trips to the North (Doubtless Bay, Ninety Mile Beach, Cape Reinga): West (Hokianga Harbour and giant Kauri trees): East to Paihia, (boat trips, islands and historic Russell.) For trips to Cape Reinga and for trips to Russell our guests take the day off and this gives them lots of time for exploring. We like to see them making the most of their stay and enjoy hearing about their adventures. You can even leave to go north for a few days and return to your unit to continue your stay. We are very relaxed and happy to fit in with your wishes.

We are 16kms to Kerikeri CBD (main shopping village) : 10 kms to Kerikeri Airport: 18km to Paihia (beach and ferries)

Graham is a retired Bay of Islands cruise boat skipper (captain) , Noelle is a retired receptionist and Hydrographic Office cartographer.

All our guests are NON-SMOKERS, all have their own transport and all provide their food and cook their meals. Sometimes we get together for a shared Graham meal. Hours of help asked for per day are reduced to 3 (not five)

Noelle and Graham are sixth generation New Zealanders. Graham writes and publishes non-fiction books.

We are retired, relaxed and just appreciate some help when it is offered.




Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use