Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 79787
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.25
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79787
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 27, 2017

We are a friendly, ordinary family who moved to this beautiful remote village in Scotland some 9 years ago, to enjoy a better quality of life than we had in Stockport. We are currently building our house, a traditionally built, all masonry three storey property on a lovely plot of land overlooking the Sound of Mull. Unusually, our house is truly self-built, as we are carrying out all of the work ourselves and are not involving subcontractors apart from very specific items, for example, we brought in a subcontractor to excavate 2000 tons of rock from the site, where we have built our basement.
As there is a huge variety of different disciplines being employed in building the property, it is a fantastic opportunity for somebody to learn all about an enormous range of different construction techniques, and will include disciplines such as bricklaying, joinery, electrical work, plumbing, drainage and other skills.
We are offering the opportunity for someone to come and assist with our build in exchange for free food and accommodation. It's a pretty flexible agreement, but generally, we would expect someone to assist for around three days per week, with the other days in the week being available for exploration of the beautiful area that we live in. A bicycle is available for loan, but there is also easy access by ferry to Oban and by bus to Fort William. There is some physically demanding work, so this opportunity is probably not for the faint of heart or weak of limb! Get in touch for a friendly chat about our requirements.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use