Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 79800
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St.Esteve de Palautordera
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79800
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 24, 2018

We're a friendly and artistic couple in our 30s who'd like to host a native English speaker who can help us with some house chores and/or offer conversation in English.
We'd like someone who'd like to stay with us from one to a few days, up to a week.

The house is in the outskirts of a cosy village at the feet of Montseny mountains. The village is small but has local shops, restaurants, bars and a lively atmosephere. It is an ideal place to have a country break and yet be close to Barcelona. The capital's city centre is 50 minutes away by train or a few minutes longer if you don't have a car, as you'll need to take a local bus. Trains (same line takes you straight to the airport) go every 30 minutes.

Our property is a semi-detached house with a front garden and a cosy back terrace. There's a country road in front of it which gets a bit busy sometimes but apart from that the area is really quiet and surrounded by fields. We've got a fireplace in the living room and no TV! So it's really peaceful :). We are curious people with lots of interests. We are into music, literature, arts, cinema, languages...

WE OFFER: accomodation in a private room with a double bed, towels and a bike to get around the area + Home made good quality food, most of it organic or local. We're not big meat eaters but not vegetarian either, although we can adapt :)

WE'LL NEED you to give us 90 minutes of English conversation per day, and 2 hours work in the house. This can involve tasks such as: cutting the grass, cleaning windows, dusting, cleaning kicthen walls, sweeping and moping, etc.

If your idea is to come home only to sleep and you don't need us to feed you (in case you are, for example, doing something in Barcelona), then we'd be happy to exchange the accomodation only for the 90 minutes conversation in English. We'd like to gain fluency and expand our vocabulary.

If you're a qualified music teacher, we'd also be happy to exchange some of the work above for music theory lessons. Gina is a singer and plays ukulele.

Please note that we ONLY accept native English speakers in all cases. Thank you.

Hope we can meet soon! Contact us to have an informal chat on Skype :)
Gina and Quim

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use