Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 79840
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Te Anau
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 79840
Region: Southland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 9, 2017

We are looking for a Czech (Slovak) speaking person to join us over the summer (from October)
- help with our one year old boy (and talk to him in Czech!)
- assist with domestic duties, including cleaning of our small BnB Unit
- help out with gardening tasks
- have a wonderful time in Fiordland!

We are a quiet family with one baby boy, no TV but surrounded by the beautiful playground of Fiordland National Park. We live in the town of Te Anau and are just a short walk from the lakefront and town centre.
Our two houses are side by side – one of them is our family home, the second one has the BnB unit and Martin’s office on the lower level, and a self contained one bedroom accommodation upstairs. This self contained area on the second floor is where you would stay. Most of the time this self contained unit will be yours, although there are a handful of nights through the summer where the pull-out bed/couch could be used occasionally by our friends when they are in town. Your unit has its own kitchen and bathroom so you have privacy. Food - up to negotiations - we can provide meals or you can be self-catering i.e. cook your own meals/provide your own food, help yourself to garden produce of course!
A bike and single kayak are available. We have a small bed and breakfast accommodation unit and one of your main responsibilities will be assisting in the running of this – eg cleaning and occasionally meeting guests.
Due to our work, Jen can be away for a day and Martin might be away for several days tour guiding. So we need a flexible helper although you will also have ample of opportunity for time off and advice on how to enjoy Fiordland while you are with us, so you will have the time to fit in some hiking as well. You might like to get a part time job, if you wish - Te Anau offers many opportunities throughout summer.
We would expect that you will help out on average 3-4 hours per day, negotiable for a couple.
There is a real shortage of rental accommodation in Te Anau so this set up could work out well for individuals/couples who want to spend some time in Te Anau and Fiordland and have a base while they are here. Jen is a native English speaker so you will have the opportunity to practice your English skills if that is what you want (this is with a kiwi accent though ??).
We welcome helpers who are mature and keen to spend time with our son. We also welcome helpers who are considerate and understand how to clear up, wash and fold clothes, clean rooms, tidy and generally follow instructions with care, and be a respectful member of our family environment and not too noisy, and also people who know how to limit screen time! We are not religious but welcome people from all backgrounds. We are happy to accept respectful couples. Get in touch!
Martin and Jen

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use