Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 8047
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 17600
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 8047
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 23, 2011

We are a family operation with three young children who are home schooled by a Governess. Our main business is beef cattle farming, we run approximately 3000 head on 45,000 acres between two properties.

We are in a remote area of Far North Queensland, approximately 6 hours drive from either Townsville or Cairns. The closest access point for buses is Mt Surprise/Georgetown. We have a small plane which we use to travel between the properties.

The countryside is beautiful undulating eucalypt woodland with wide sandy creeks. Our wet season is Dec-March and it can be very hot during those months so bear that in mind if you don't like the heat!

Our work varies depending on the time of year. There is station work involving mustering the cattle, fencing, yard work, putting out feed and pumping water. Around the homestead it is more gardening, work in the shed, maintenance, housework, cooking and so forth.

We have donga style accommodation for singles or doubles, about 100m away from the main house. Each room is airconditioned, has own bathroom and verandah. We have access to the internet at the house.

Our diet is largely red meat with alot of fresh fruit and vegetables. Due to the isolation it is difficult to cater for special dietary requirements, so you would need to bring these with you.

We are looking for practical, friendly people who are keen to have an outback experience. At the moment we need help to clean up following cyclone Yasi. This will involve mainly helping to clear debris from fence lines and re-erect the fences.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use