Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 81751
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Summer only
Area (ha): 10 acres
Persons: 2-3 people
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 81751
Region: Northland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 8, 2018

Currently not accepting halpers. We may be looking for helpers again later in 2018: from October onwards. This family property has been been tenanted for many years and is needing some love to bring it up to its paradise potential.

I have been travelling in Europe over the past 4 years and have worked as a help-x helper. This is my first time hosting. I am updating this profile with more information and photos shortly, but in the meantime, contact me for more details.
*Note: just created a Facebook page, so click through to see more photos and ideas of what sort of work we are doing.

Langs Beach is a beautiful sandy beach north of Maungawhai and South of Waipu Cove. It is about 2 hours by car from Auckland, and 40 minutes from Whangarei. Our property runs down to the rocky waters edge with great views to Bream Head and the Hen and Chicken Islands.

There are coastal walks, beautiful beaches and surf, birdwatching for the rare Fairy Tern, vineyards, gigs at the historic Mangawhai Tavern, craft beers at the atmospheric McLeods Brewery/Pizza Barn at Waipu, Glow worm caves and much more to explore.

I highly recommend you have your own transport to give you freedom to explore in your time off. None the less you will have the opportunity to join in with some family activities, and I value the cultural component of this type of exchange.

The initial work involves: clearing overgrown gardens and fence lines. Cutting gorse. Removing old fences. Repairing and replacing electric fencing. Felling trees. If you have fencing or chainsaw experience that is a big bonus. Also familiarity with using a petrol-driven weedeater. We are needing to get the boundaries secured so we can start grazing sheep in the future.

On-going work: General housekeeping. Sewing and repairing curtains and linens. Woolgathering (!). Mowing lawns and clearing with weed eater. Preparing our new glamping site for future guests.

*update. We now have 8 Wiltshire self-shedding sheep on the property, so work on fences is doubly important.

Other projects in 2018 include finding uses for the onsite bamboo grove, propagating native plants for bush regeneration, interior decoration, establishing a vegetable garden, building a chicken coop and an outdoor wood-fired oven. If you have a particular skill or interest we will aim to work with that!

Hours of work: 25 hours per week. Generally 5 hours in the morning with plenty of time off for enjoying the beach and bush. Days off as arranged (2 per week). I would prefer you to stay for a minimum of a week: longer by mutual agreement.

Your bedroom will be in a large room separated from the house by the garage, giving some privacy. You will be sharing the room if there is more than one helper.

When my sons visit (often) there may be 1 or 2 golden retreivers in residence too.

There is no landline. Unlimited non fibre broadband available. No smoking.

I am a keen cook and am happy to prepare food for most dietary requirements. Perfecting my sourdough bread. You can learn this skill too if you are interested.
* the photos show: working on the gorse, the glamping tent site, our "private beach", Stevie the golden retriever, the arrival of our little flock of sheep, and sourdough baking

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use