help exchange   Host 8236
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Taggia, Liguria
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2/3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 8236
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 22, 2019

Olive grove 4km from the Mediterranean in Liguria close to French border. The local beaches are excellent and we are an easy day trip from Menton and Monaco.

Helpers with gardening, dry stone walling and maintenance skills are especially welcome as are reliable short term house-sitters as we prefer the place to be occupied when we are not here. We almost always have a need for strong labourers!

We can offer the place on a house sitting basis at various times of the year. For this we must have references.

We get a lot of requests and always try to reply quickly as we understand the complications of arranging travel dates, etc. Please be specific about what skills you have and what dates you are available.

In return for up to 25 hours work each week we provide accommodation, food and will try to show you around the area. If house-sitting we can either provide food and money for food or you may choose to do less and provide for yourselves. this can be negotiated.

To get more a a flavour of us you might want to see our closed Facebook group- please ask to join.

* please look at our references to get further
* We are a steep 2-3km walk from the town of Taggia
* that helpers from outside the EU must have personal insurance and,
if no references are already posted on HelpX, a clear statement of your expectations of HelpX
we are not able to support visa applications
* Our access is a demanding track so please check with me before bringing a vehicle. It is possible to leave a vehicle down the road.
* because we have little space we often don`t
have the company of other helpers and you
might it a bit isolated by yourself so it might
be best to come as a couple or two friends.
* Winter is not usually very cold and we do not get frosts and snow but it can feel cold if the wind is from the mountain. Days are short.

If house-sitting please be aware that a rural property can suddenly become demanding. I had brilliant house-sitters ( January 2014) who arrived to a land slip on the road, a flooded house and no electricity! I can`t believe they wanted to stay. This is the first time this has happened but it could happen again. I am so fortunate to have people who have all the skills to cope but it means I have to be sure you will manage.

We have a small olive grove - Our knowledge of oil production is derived from our neighbours and we are learning. We have a hectare of land which is a bit beyond what we can manage given that we don`t live there and have jobs, etc. We are not certified organic but try to be ecologically sound - have solar power, don`t use insecticides, etc.

We fully subscribe to the HelpX philosophy will do our best to ensure you enjoy your time with us.We have now been HelpX hosts for seven years and would never been able to develop the property without the wonderful people whom we have hosted. We believe we should employ local people where we should and that HelpX workers should be in addition. We strongly disapprove of the site being used as a way of getting `cheap labour` or taking away local employment opportunities. Very occasionally we will pay people we have met through HelpX for additional hours when they have particular skills (and work eligibility visas) we need at a particular time.

Sue is a retired teacher originally from New Zealand. Richard continues to work so is here less often. We have a swimming pool and are about 4 km from the sea. Sue keeps a Nissan Micra in Italy and will happily drive back and forth to the seaside! It is a 2km steep walk to the old town of Taggia and helpers need to be aware of this when Sue is not available to drive! We have two bicycles for you to use, Please be aware also that there are no immediate neighbours. We love the tranquility but it may not suit everyone.

If bringing a vehicle please look at YouTube Road to Canelli. The road is demanding and the last section unsuitable for many vehicles!

Type of work
General Maintenance,
Drystone walling

Languages spoken

We have a lovely but small house so cannot host many at a time. The limited accommodation means we need to be very specific about dates and work. We prefer the house to be occupied when we are not here so welcome capable house sitters.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use