Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 82479
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1 or couple, 3+
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 82479
Region: Northland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 21, 2018

Update: 21/5/2018 - We are fully booked till 16th of July.

We will update here if plans change and availability opens up! Safe travels!


Guest bedroom is currently available for single or couple. Happy to host more than 2, but will provide tent for camping on property, or your van/rv to park on property.

Could use some help with cleaning, staining deck, refinishing furniture (sand/stain), painting, gardening, stacking firewood, clearing shrubbery, sewing, weeding, cooking, and helping with kids.

If you see this update, we welcome new Helpers!

We are former world travelers who have traded our packs for diaper bags. American/Kiwi family looking for help around our home and property. Charlotte is originally from California (Redondo Beach) and Doug was born and raised on the Tutukaka Coast.

Doug is a builder and has built our home, therefore, it's always under construction. We have a 3 year old and an infant, so would love folks who have experience with, or enjoy little children.

We have 18 acres of natural bush and wetlands, and would love it if you have childcare (RIE knowledge is a plus!), cleaning, carpentry, painting, arborist, gardening, landscape design, or permaculture experience appreciated, but not required! Happy to have help pulling weeds or cleaning a bathroom :)

We are working towards a self sufficient homestead, but since we just moved in July 2017, there is still lots of work to be done.

Bonus points for native Spanish and Francophone speakers! It is okay if your English isn't very good, Charlotte would love to work on her French & Spanish! (All languages and cultures are welcome though!)

What to see and do: We are located on the Tutukaka Coast, which is known for it's amazing beaches and The Poor Knights Marine reserve. If you love diving, sport fishing, or water sports, this is a great place to visit. We are also a short drive away from the Bay of Islands, so easy for quick day trips.

What you can learn: Charlotte is a keen vermicomposter. She has 3 active worm farms and is happy to share her knowledge maintaining, harvesting castings/worm tea, and how we use it in the garden. She also maintains a continuous brew kombucha system, for those that might be interested in learning about kombucha.

Douglas is a certified builder and New Zealand native. Fishing, boating, and fixing just about anything are some of his strengths.

We have a guest bedroom available with a queen bed that you are welcome to. If you prefer more of a camping "Kiwi Bush" experience, we have plenty of land for you to pitch a tent or park your car/van. If you don't have a tent, but would like to camp, we have one you may borrow.

If you love to cook, as we do because we love to eat!! We have a fully stocked gourmet kitchen to indulge in! We love sharing meals with our guests and look forward to it! We are an omnivorous home, but do our best to accommodate vegetarian guests. We may just need you to help out more with the cooking since vegetarian cooking isn't our strength! Please let us know prior to your arrival if you have any dietary restrictions or needs.

Free WiFi and Netflix!

We are open to short and long term visits. Happy to pick you up in Whangarei if you need a ride to us.

Happy travels!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use